My Limited Perspective

Over the past few months I’ve been reading, studying, and researching Biblical prophecy.  Via my studies and searches for solid Biblical information, I’ve accidentally walked into some teaching by false teachers and prophets.  For some reason, I expected that those teachings would be relatively easy to spot, like someone dressed up in a costume, or that they would come with some sort of a warning sign….

And what I am doing I will continue to do, in order to undermine the claim of those who would like to claim that in their boasted mission they work on the same terms as we do. For such men are false apostles, deceitful workmen, disguising themselves as apostles of Christ. And no wonder, for even Satan disguises himself as an angel of light. So it is no surprise if his servants, also, disguise themselves as servants of righteousness. Their end will correspond to their deeds. (2 Corinthians 11:12-15 ESV)

…they don’t.  They come cleverly disguised as God’s truth.  They claim to speak for God with messages for His people.  They can even quote scriptures accurately.  But where they take God’s truth and what they do with it, reveal their true nature; evil. 

Enter by the narrow gate. For the gate is wide and the way is easy that leads to destruction, and those who enter by it are many. For the gate is narrow and the way is hard that leads to life, and those who find it are few. Beware of false prophets, who come to you in sheep’s clothing but inwardly are ravenous wolves. You will recognize them by their fruits. Are grapes gathered from thornbushes, or figs from thistles? (Matthew 7:13-16 ESV)

Yesterday, I was able to skype with my daughter and granddaughter, who happens to be 2 years old.  Seeing mimi on the puter just isn’t the same as having her there with you in person.  So I’ve had to be creative to keep her interacting with me (on the puter screen).  As her mother was talking with my husband, she and I were playing “peek-a-boo”.  I’d duck just out of sight off her screen and pop back into the scene in various places.  This required some crawling around out of sight and a huge helping of silliness.  But she loved it!  And so did I.  At one point I was out of sight and started singing Jesus Loves Me.  She could hear me but not see me….which fascinated her.  At another point I was dancing in the background behind poppie.  So she decided she needed to join me in my dance – all without one note of music!

Her perspective of us has changed due to our geographical separation.  Via our computer screens, we both have very narrow limited lines of sight.  It seems to me that our current revelation of who God is, is just as narrow.  We see Him through His creation and His word.  We see Him at work in our lives and the lives of others around us.  We sense His leading and His Holy Spirit, yet these all seem to be very limited perspectives of the full truth of His being.

It takes great discernment and diligence to detect false teachers.  And rather than setting my eyes and energy on revealing every false teacher out there, I know that I am much better off to continue seeking out God through His word.  I know that He will reveal the right path for me to walk, and that He will correct me if and when I stray off courseThose who profess faith in Jesus Christ must continue to hold fast to His truth, taking the gospel of good news to all people.

Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you. And behold, I am with you always, to the end of the age.” (Matthew 28:19-20 ESV)

Satan wants to get us sidelined with chasing away evil, rooting it out, revealing lies and deception.  That is not what God has called us to do.  He has called us to bring others to Christ.  He will handle Satan.  We are tasked with spreading the gospel of Jesus to the world.  So let us stay focused on God’s calling.  Let us renew our trust in the One who is trustworthy.  Let us each take up our cross daily and follow after Jesus.

If you love me, you will keep my commandments. (John 14:15 ESV)

I only have a limited perspective.  I have surrendered my life to Jesus to be used as He sees fit.  So I keep my eyes on my Lord and ask Him what He wants from me today.  Then I do my best to obey Him.  He wants me to be a good wife and mother, a good friend, and a good daughter.  He has asked me to write, walk, study and teach.  So I will do that to which He has called me, being mindful that there are those who masquerade as light.  All glory to God in heaven.

You also must be ready, for the Son of Man is coming at an hour you do not expect.” (Luke 12:40 ESV)

Thank You Father for revealing false teaching.  Thank You for redirecting my path back to Your truth.  Thank You Lord for showing me those who are to be avoided.  Help me Lord bring glory to Your great Name.  Amen.

One thing have I asked of the LORD, that will I seek after: that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, to gaze upon the beauty of the LORD and to inquire in his temple. (Psalm 27:4 ESV)

Leave a comment