That Is No Longer Who I Am

My walks give me great opportunity to spend quiet time with my Lord Jesus.  This morning I was asking Him to reveal to my heart those things that I need to change.  One of those things was my attitude toward my diet.  When I say diet I don’t mean the short term restrictive type.  I mean what I normally eat.  You see God has been working in my life revealing the food items that are not good for my health and helping me to eat nourishing wholesome foods – cutting out processed foods, added sugar, no sugar substitutes, limited dairy, etc.  I’m eating really well.  Lots of greens, veggies, variety of meats, eggs, sweet potatoes, nuts, berries, fruits, etc.

But my attitude has been slipping back to my old self lately.  It is a slow fade.

The truth is that I’m wanting to become lazy when it comes to preparing my own food and planning ahead.  It is this lack of desire to put out the effort to shop, prep, plan what to make, and cook healthy food that got me to obesity in the first place.  Convenient foods, processed foods take less time and effort on my part – and often make clean up easier too!  God convicted me that my lack of desire in this area is really sin – not wanting to do that which God has clearly shown to me that I must do.

So whoever knows the right thing to do and fails to do it, for him it is sin. (James 4:17 ESV)

I must say I feel much better when I cook for myself than when I eat out or eat processed foods, but when I’m already tired and am facing making dinner for my family, that is when I’m weakest.  And satan pounces.  So God was just reminding me this morning that His ways are best for me and that trying to go back to my old ways won’t suit me any longer – that is no longer who I am!

A Living Sacrifice

I appeal to you therefore, brothers, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable to God, which is your spiritual worship. (Romans 12:1 ESV)

Oh, I am such a work in progress!  So new shoes it is!  Walking in His new ways in my life takes diligence.  No going back.  Commitment to the path.  And relying on His strength to press on when I’m tapped out.  An attitude adjustment is just what I needed.  I desire to honor God with my body as my spiritual act of worship.  I know that He expects me to be a good steward with all that He has given to me including my body.  And when I do, He has been faithful to bless me with more energy, better strength, and even less pain.

I know that our bodies don’t last forever, but we are God’s workmanship, knitted together by Him for Him.  We have a responsibility to take care of ourselves so that we can serve God and His kingdom.

Take Up Your Cross and Follow Jesus

And he said to all, “If anyone would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me. For whoever would save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for my sake will save it. (Luke 9:23-24 ESV)

So what has God been doing in your life lately?  Are you slipping back to your old ways?  Ask Him for His strength so that you may pick up your cross today and follow Him.  He is where our help comes from.

My Help Comes from the Lord

A Song of Ascents.

I lift up my eyes to the hills. From where does my help come? My help comes from the LORD, who made heaven and earth. He will not let your foot be moved; he who keeps you will not slumber. (Psalm 121:1-3 ESV)

Deny yourself.  Follow Him.  Press on beloved, press on!

Leave a Reply

