It’s Not About You!

That was the opening line of Rick Warren’s book The Purpose Driven Life.  Yet even in that one small statement the focus is still God’s creation rather than God himself.  Current Christianity has been so twisted so as to be individual focused rather than Creator glorified.

How should I live my life?

What do I need to stop being such a sinner?

How has God shown me His faithfulness in my life?

Well beloved, God IS faithful.  And yes we are to take note of that as we live FOR Him.  But the purpose of our Bible Study, the purpose of our Worship, the purpose of our fellowship, the purpose of our celebrations, the purpose of our grief should all be pointing to God and Him glorified.

All life, all time, is about Him and His kingdom, His glory, His worthiness.  God the Father, Jesus Christ, and God’s Holy Spirit are to be the central focus of life for Christians.  It is God who has created this world and created us.  He is calling us to faith in Jesus Christ that results in our receiving and being sealed by God’s Holy Spirit enabling us to live in a way that brings glory to God and that serves God each and every day.  It is about lowering self and raising up His great Name.

Do you think of yourself as a slave/servant?

For he who was called in the Lord as a bondservant is a freedman of the Lord. Likewise he who was free when called is a bondservant of Christ. You were bought with a price; do not become bondservants of men. (ESV) 1 Corinthians 7:22-23

We are both free, from our slavery to our sins, yet bound by our calling to Christ to serve God and to do His will.  We were purchased by the blood of Christ to be God’s children and heirs in Christ Jesus.

For through the law I died to the law, so that I might live to God. I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me. I do not nullify the grace of God, for if righteousness were through the law, then Christ died for no purpose. (ESV) Galatians 2:19-21

Look up the names for God and for Christ Jesus that are used in scripture.  See who God is, and why He is so worthy of our worship, praise, and honor.  And then see why it is so utterly ridiculous that we should think of self in the ways that we do.

I’m sure that many of you have seen the eternity/life object lesson using a long rope representing eternity and our life here as being one small thread on that never ending rope.  Beloved God loves you and has plans for you.  But those plans are not about you, they are all about Him and His kingdom and His glory.

It is funny how we can pick out and memorize the scriptures that are all about us; that make us feel good, that serve us in our time of need.  And those scriptures and promises of God to His beloved children are true and gracious anchors in our lives, yet there is so much more in the Bible that we seemingly pass over and fail to understand about who this gracious, loving God really is. 

It is a dangerous thing for us to steal even a tiny bit of the glory that belongs to God.

“I am the LORD; I have called you in righteousness;

                                I will take you by the hand and keep you;

                I will give you as a covenant for the people,

                                a light for the nations,

                                to open the eyes that are blind,

                to bring out the prisoners from the dungeon,

                                from the prison those who sit in darkness.

                I am the LORD; that is my name;

                                my glory I give to no other,

                                nor my praise to carved idols. (ESV) Isaiah 42:6-8

My glory I give to no other.

I pray that you will seek God as you read and study His word.  I pray that my short life and yours are poured out to do nothing other than bring great glory to Him alone.  May we exalt the name of Jesus above any other name.  At the tower of Babel, men had determined to do just the opposite, and here we are approaching a time when men once again are striving to make their own names great before all people.

Church, humble yourself.  Exalt God.  Without Him you cannot take your next breath.  Lift high the name of Jesus.  Be encouraged.  Press on.

But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you. (ESV) Matthew 6:33

Leave a Reply

