Hope and Light for a Dark World

“How can I help you around here?”  It was a rare and unexpected question.  The night before, when he asked me what I was doing, my reply was, “Just trying to keep up.”  When I find myself working until well after dinner, I know I’m doing too much.  Is this just a season?  I haven’t even blogged in two months.  Has God asked me to do more than I can handle?  Have I simply taken on more than He has asked?  These are difficult things to discern.

Do all things without grumbling or disputing, that you may be blameless and innocent, children of God without blemish in the midst of a crooked and twisted generation, among whom you shine as lights in the world, holding fast to the word of life, so that in the day of Christ I may be proud that I did not run in vain or labor in vain. Even if I am to be poured out as a drink offering upon the sacrificial offering of your faith, I am glad and rejoice with you all. Likewise you also should be glad and rejoice with me. (Philippians 2:14-18 ESV)

Paul was being poured out.  Sacrificing for the faith of others.  Did God ask too much of him?  Did he take on more than God had asked?  I don’t think so.  But Paul learned to be content.  He knew who he was and Whose he was.  He knew his purpose and his calling.  He did not grumble over being poured out.  He counted it as fruit.  He wrote and encouraged those believers that he had taught to shine in their own crooked and twisted generation, holding fast to God’s word.

Faith requires sacrifice.

I think the entitlement culture has entered into the church.  Faith is costly.

Cheap grace and free faith are of no use – the salt has lost its saltiness.

So I will take one day at a time, accomplishing what I can with due diligence and God’s strength, all for a sacrifice of faith and His glory.  I will lean hard into my Savior for His plan for each day.  I will trust into His capable hands all that I left undone.  I love Him and He loves me.

The harvest is ripe.  He is coming soon.

Share your faith.  Encourage your brothers and sisters in Christ Jesus.

Today, many in our country are at a loss.  The election results were not what they expected.  Many are angry.  Others are afraid of what the future holds.  And so they should be.  For those who have not accepted Jesus as their Savior, the future is truly dark and fearsome.  But we have the hope.  We are supposed to be the light of hope to this dark world.  Shine your light.  Do your part.  Pour out your life for the sake of others and for God’s great coming kingdom.  Speak God’s truth with boldness.

God is going to burn this place down.  He is going to allow Satan to run amuck here.  God is going to pour out His great wrath like nothing this world has ever seen.  The time is drawing short.

The enemy is not Donald.  The savior is not a government.  Speak truth beloved, speak God’s truth.  God is giving us plenty of opportunity to speak for Him.  Tell others to place their hope and trust in Jesus Christ while they still can.  None of us knows what tomorrow will bring.  God is good all the time, and all the time God is good.  He is loving and just and this world deserves His great wrath for ignoring our creator and defying His laws.  It is time to speak Church.

I pray that you are pouring your life out as a sacrifice for God.  Rest in Him beloved.  Be encouraged.  Press on.

But as it is, they desire a better country, that is, a heavenly one. Therefore God is not ashamed to be called their God, for he has prepared for them a city. (Hebrews 11:16 ESV)

Leave a Reply

