My Only Justification Is In Jesus Christ

This past week has revealed in me an unsettledness and frustration and disappointment that I wanted to label Justified.  Yet God in His great goodness and holiness always reveals truth to us when we are willing to listen.  I pray that I am always willing to listen.

You see my voice is just that, my voice.  I can’t be your voice.  You must be.

My opinion is mine alone.  I don’t expect, nor do I desire, that others accept and follow.

The only one I am following is Jesus.

I hope that I have no name in remembrance.  I hope that I have nothing quoted that I’ve said.  I pray that all that is left behind is God’s truth, encouragement of the saints, and pointing the lost to their Savior Jesus Christ.

My disappointment comes when brethren don’t think and act the way I think they should.

God revealed to me that the real label that I should use is prideful and controlling.  His word admonishes me to walk in humility and to take every thought captive to the obedience of Christ Jesus my Lord and Savior.  I should be concerned about self.  I should be doing what He’s called me to do not pointing out errors, flaws, accusations, etc in anyone else.  He will do any necessary correcting.  He will work in the hearts of others – that is not my place.

So drawing me gently back to the basics – I am to abide in Him, in His word.  I am to love others well.  I am to offer grace and mercy and forgiveness.  I am to share the gospel.  I am to not shrink back in the face of opposition from the evil one.  I am to be a peacemaker.  I am to be a warrior in God’s army with my armor and my sword, fighting the good fight in this spiritual battle.  I am to work quietly at home loving my family.  I am to teach other younger women to do the same.  I am to allow the Holy Spirit within me to convict and conform me to be more like Jesus.  Day by day, He is replacing my selfish, sin-bent heart with His great heart of love and truth.

How am I doing with that?  Today.  Who do I need to seek forgiveness from?  Who needs a few words of encouragement today?  How have I tried to hide God’s word in my heart?  Am I listening for His promptings as I go run my errands?  Am I taking every opportunity to worship and praise God who is worthy of my praise?  Am I shining the light of Jesus in each conversation?

Father God, forgive me for my prideful thoughts and actions.  Show me today what walking humbly with You should look like.  May I always be ready with Your words of truth and healing and to share my testimony with those who are seeking Your truth.  Use the little that I have to offer today Lord for Your glory and Your kingdom.  Amen.

Today we are weeping with our church family after the tragic loss of a young life.  Hearts are broken and hurting.  Deep pain and grief that only the love of God the Father can reach.  We weep with them.  I have never had to don the jacket of losing a child nor a grandchild.  I have only to watch from the sideline how they take the next breath, tie the next shoe, take the next step of faith that God is still good and faithful.  He promises us joy in the morning.  Mercies new each day.  These are so difficult to see through the dark fog of loss.  May we stand in the gap for those who are being brought low by this difficult life.  Let us be the hands and feet of Jesus Himself.

I don’t know what your day will look like, but I do know the one who does.  He has good for you to do today.  Maybe it is just to go hug a person who is grieving.  Maybe it is just a text of encouragement to one facing a trial.  Maybe it is simply to work quietly at home loving your family and praying for others.  Turn your eyes to the hills from where our hope comes.  Turn your eyes to the Lamb who was slain.  Sit at the feet of the King of Kings.  I pray that you will give Him all the glory and always be ready with an answer for your faith.  Abide in Him.  Be encouraged.  Press on.

Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our affliction, so that we may be able to comfort those who are in any affliction, with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God. For as we share abundantly in Christ’s sufferings, so through Christ we share abundantly in comfort too. (2 Corinthians 1:3-5 ESV)

Leave a Reply

