God’s Word – Our Treasure: It was given to us to be shared with the world.

Oh…the joy of a nice hot cup of hot tea when I’m freezing.  Such warmth.

It is as God’s word to an aching heart.  Warmth from the inside.  Comfort.

I was listening to a pod cast sermon while out on my walk this morning.  A pastor was preaching on a passage of Revelation.

Then I fell down at his feet to worship him, but he said to me, “You must not do that! I am a fellow servant with you and your brothers who hold to the testimony of Jesus. Worship God.” For the testimony of Jesus is the spirit of prophecy. (Revelation 19:10 ESV)

…a fellow servant with you….who old the testimony of Jesus….

And I fell at his feet to worship him. And he said unto me, See thou do it not: I am thy fellowservant, and of thy brethren that have the testimony of Jesus: worship God: for the testimony of Jesus is the spirit of prophecy. (KJV)

…that have the testimony of Jesus….the spirit of prophecy.

These words just jumped out at me and struck me.  Do you realize that we – in the church age – who call ourselves followers of Jesus Christ, the Lion of Judah, the Lamb of God, the only One worthy to unseal the scroll – WE have the testimony of Jesus.  It is a treasure with which we are entrusted, with the sole purpose of sharing it with the world.

So I wonder, how are we doing?  How is my church doing with this?  How is the church in America doing with this?  Are we sharing this treasure that we possess?

Don’t get caught up with the receiving response.  That is God’s work in them and their choice to either receive the good news with great joy or to walk away from such a gift – they will be held accountable for their choices.  But I will be held accountable for what I did with this treasure that God has given to me as He has commanded me to go into all the world and share it.  He has sealed me with His Holy Spirit.  He has equipped me with His Holy Word.  He has saved me from the pit of hell.  I have much work to do.  I have only this one life to give.  I may even have only this one day left to tell you.

So listen, please.  Listen.

Beloved, God loves you.  We are each born into sin, everyone of us.  We are wicked by nature.  We cannot be in God’s presence because of our sin.  The only thing we deserve is hell.  But God loves us.  He wants us to be with Him for eternity.  He became flesh – Jesus Christ.  Jesus offered himself as the perfect sacrifice to forgive our sins.  We are saved through our acceptance of this act of love.  When we accept what Jesus has done for us as payment in full for our sins, when we acknowledge that He is God’s only son who has been raised to new life and is right now seated at God’s right hand praying for us, it is then that we are redeemed.  Confess that you are a sinner.  Accept Jesus as your savior.  Get right with God so that you may freely commune with Him forever.  This is the gospel message.  The good news to be preached to the whole earth.  Freedom from slavery to sin.  Restoration to God.  Eternal life in heaven.  Forgiveness of sins.

If you have already accepted Jesus and His salvation, please walk in humble obedience and tell others about Him.  Live your life for Jesus.  Study and learn, then go and tell.  Encourage the brethren.

I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me. (Galatians 2:20 ESV)

Paul writing to the church in Philippi

Only let your manner of life be worthy of the gospel of Christ, so that whether I come and see you or am absent, I may hear of you that you are standing firm in one spirit, with one mind striving side by side for the faith of the gospel, and not frightened in anything by your opponents. This is a clear sign to them of their destruction, but of your salvation, and that from God. For it has been granted to you that for the sake of Christ you should not only believe in him but also suffer for his sake, engaged in the same conflict that you saw I had and now hear that I still have. (Philippians 1:27-30 ESV)

Please don’t walk in a spirit of fear but stand firm on God’s word.  Abide in Him.  Share Him.  This world needs Jesus.  We will be engaged in conflict and suffer for Jesus.  We have been given the testimony of Christ.  We have been called to share it.  Worship God alone.  Be encouraged.  Press on!

Leave a Reply

