We are at War: Do You Have Your Battle Gear On?

I am quite concerned about the eternal salvation of many people.  As I study God’s word, I am learning that our salvation is assured and secure, but we must be certain that we have received it.

I believe in God.

I said the prayer and accepted Jesus.

I go to church.

I serve at my church.

I read my Bible and pray regularly.

My parents are Christians.

I’m a good person.  I do many good things for others.

I follow God’s commandments.

Do you know that there is not one single thing on this list that makes you a Christian?

You see, the only thing that makes you a Christian is accepting by faith the sacrifice that Jesus Christ made for you (in your place) on the cross.  Everything else was done for you (and me) by Jesus.  You must simply enter into a personal relationship with Jesus where He removes your sins, covers them with His blood, and gives you in return His righteousness before God.  We do nothing to earn this grace and mercy.  We simply receive it.  In truth the only thing that any of us deserves is hell.

This is the ONLY way that you may be certain that you have received salvation.

You must believe that Jesus Christ is the only son of God, who lived a perfect life, died on the cross to pay for your sins.  It is only through His shed blood that any will come to stand before God blameless.  Jesus justifies us, claims us as His own, seals us with God’s Holy Spirit, and loves us enough to not leave us in our sin but to offer freedom from that bondage.  He even changes our nature, renews our minds, the old is gone and the new person lives in Christ.

None of us receive the gift of salvation from Jesus because we are free from sin.  It is in the midst of our sin that we accept this precious gift.  It is offered to all people.  It is God’s work in us that calls us to Himself.  But God has graciously given us the choice, accept His son Jesus Christ as our personal savior, or do nothing and walk away, thanks, but no thanks.  He will not force us to submit to Him and His will.  We must willingly choose to do so.  Willingly accept the salvation He is offering, say Thank You Lord, and begin the journey of building that relationship with the only one who can save our souls for eternity.

Here are some things to consider if you feel you are a Christian but have never begun a relationship with Jesus?  Do you have God’s Holy Spirit within you?  Have you been pressed on with conviction for your sins by God’s Spirit?  Have you heard from God in your prayers?  Are you asking God to reveal His will for your life and He is doing so?  Are you able to walk through this life’s difficulties with the peace and gentleness that comes only from God’s Spirit?  Are your prayers powerful and effective?  Does your heart swell with such love for Jesus that you willingly trade your dreams and desires for suffering for the sake of God’s kingdom?  Would you be willing to die for an unsaved person?

Beloved, those of us who know Jesus as our personal Savior, Lord, and friend, know that we are soldiers in His army – battling every day against evil.  God has sealed us with His Holy Spirit to give us power to fight, to stand firm, to persevere, and to proclaim boldly to the lost the good news of Jesus Christ.

Here is an excerpt from Ecclesia.org – Fellow Soldier – Soldier of God.  I encourage you to follow the link and read the entire piece.  It isn’t very long.

http://www.ecclesia.org/truth/fellow-soldier.html

I am a soldier in the army of my God. The Lord Jesus Christ is my Commanding Officer. The Holy Scripture is my code of conduct. Faith, prayer and the Word are my weapons of warfare. I have been taught by the Holy Spirit, trained by experience, tried by adversity and tested by fire.

I am a volunteer in this army, and I am enlisted for eternity. I will not get out, sell out, be talked out or pushed out. I am faithful, reliable, capable and dependable. If my God needs me, I am there. I am a soldier. I am not a baby. I do not need to be pampered, petted, primed up, pumped up, picked up, or pepped up. I am a soldier. 

I pray today that you realize who you truly are.  I pray that you believe God’s word for the unchanging truth that it is.  I pray today that you will examine your heart and walk with Jesus.  Fellow soldiers we have a battle to fight today.  Do not become distracted by the things of this world.  Time is short.  Jesus is coming soon.  Proclaim God’s truth and the good news of Jesus!  There is too much false teaching that is deceiving many.  Be encouraged.  Press on!

I am a soldier, marching heaven-bound. Here I Stand! Will you stand with me?  ~ecclesia.org

“A man may have to die for our country, but no man must, in any exclusive sense, live for his country. He who surrenders himself without reservation to the temporal claims of a nation, or a party, or a class is rendering to Caesar that which, of all things, most emphatically belongs to God; himself.” C.S. Lewis.

Leave a Reply

