Choosing the Good Portion: Restfulness, Soaking Music, and the Discipline of Being Still Before Our God

Oh the American way.  Full schedules, stressed out parents, just trying to stay afloat, living pay check to paycheck.  Two income families chasing the American dream.  Often we just add the label of Christian on the outside of this crazy and appear to have it all together.

We’ve lost our way sheep.  Slow down.  Examine your ways.

I know the pressure of living up to the expectations of others.  It is difficult; what your husband expects of you, what your parents expect of you, what your children expect of you, what others may demand of you.  But what should be at the forefront of our thoughts, what should be directing our path and guiding our decision making is what God wants from us.

Yes the opinions of others matter, but they do not supersede God’s will in our lives.  I have been purchased by God, with the blood of my savior Jesus Christ.  It is no longer I who live but Christ who lives in me.  I am no longer my own.  My desires and my dreams have been laid down so that I can pick up the abundant life that God wants for me.  His desires and His dreams are always bigger and better than anything I could want for myself.

Over the past week or so I have had multiple conversations with different women about the call on their lives to rest in the LORD.  A call to start their days soaking in worship to our great God and the outcome of these obedient decisions has been changing their hearts and their days.

So I’ve added worship to my morning quiet time.  Reading God’s word, praying and talking to Him, and now quietly worshipping His great name.  The Holy Spirit within me rejoices.  I am filled with His peace.

“If you turn back your foot from the Sabbath, from doing your pleasure on my holy day, and call the Sabbath a delight and the holy day of the LORD honorable; if you honor it, not going your own ways, or seeking your own pleasure, or talking idly; then you shall take delight in the LORD, and I will make you ride on the heights of the earth; I will feed you with the heritage of Jacob your father, for the mouth of the LORD has spoken.” (Isaiah 58:13-14 ESV)

In my Bible study time I have seen time and again God’s call to His chosen people to keep His Sabbaths.  The holiness of rest and worship.  The purposefulness of down time spent in His presence, how that will provide our souls with strength, focus, restoration, cleansing, and peace.  And at the same time, it glorifies God.

And she had a sister called Mary, who sat at the Lord’s feet and listened to his teaching. (Luke 10:39 ESV)

but one thing is necessary. Mary has chosen the good portion, which will not be taken away from her.” (Luke 10:42 ESV)

What if His people weren’t just outside-label Christians?  What if His people were all filled with His Holy Spirit; walking through our days with His power, His peace, and His purposes that shine the light of God’s love into this dark world?  What if today, you reordered your steps to rest with God and allow Him to restore your soul?  How would your home look and act and function differently?  Would others be blessed by your obedience?

Choose this day whom you will serve.  You cannot serve both God and money.  Sacrifice the American dream (it is fools-gold anyway) for the abundant life that God offers to you.  Enter into the rest that your Master is offering you.  Obedience to God brings blessings beyond measure.  Be encouraged.  Sit at the feet of Jesus today.  Listen to what He has to say to you.  Press on.

You shall be careful therefore to do as the LORD your God has commanded you. You shall not turn aside to the right hand or to the left. You shall walk in all the way that the LORD your God has commanded you, that you may live, and that it may go well with you, and that you may live long in the land that you shall possess. (Deuteronomy 5:32-33 ESV)

Leave a Reply

