The Spinning Plates

Sometimes (many times) life seems as if I am simply juggling spinning plates.  We are all given the same amount of time each day.  Choosing what to do with that time is tricky.  There are times in life when we aren’t given a choice.  We must go to work.  Our families, spouses, children need our care and provision.  Live comes with chores that must be done or we will suffer.  But then there are those other hours.

Oh how we can get tripped up and sucked in!  But if we are wise, we will pray and think before saying yes to anything.  Do you have priorities for your life?  Do you need rest?  Do your children follow your example?  Will God’s purposes in your life be aided or hindered by this decision?

I was reading in Numbers this morning about Moses and the complaining Israelites.  Moses and God were both frustrated with them.  Moses even asks God why he had to be in charge of them as he hadn’t conceived nor birthed them!  Oh how I can relate sometimes!

Now the rabble that was among them had a strong craving. And the people of Israel also wept again and said, “Oh that we had meat to eat! (Numbers 11:4 ESV)

Moses heard the people weeping throughout their clans, everyone at the door of his tent. And the anger of the LORD blazed hotly, and Moses was displeased. Moses said to the LORD, “Why have you dealt ill with your servant? And why have I not found favor in your sight, that you lay the burden of all this people on me? Did I conceive all this people? Did I give them birth, that you should say to me, ‘Carry them in your bosom, as a nurse carries a nursing child,’ to the land that you swore to give their fathers? (Numbers 11:10-12 ESV)

But more than relating to Moses, I am relating to the people of Israel.  I fight my complaining spirit all the time!  I will not return to my old ways!  I am a new creation made for God’s glory not for complaining – especially about FOOD!

So I’ll examine my spinning plates.  Decide which ones I can let drop and shatter on the ground.  And I’ll choose joy today.  I’ll give God the praise and honor He deserves.  This is the day that the Lord has made.  I will rejoice and be glad in it!  I am wise to the ways of the evil one and he will not succeed.

So pray and ponder all of your yeses.  Don’t complain.  Seek the face of God and give Him the praise that He deserves.  Make the most of the hours you have.  Get some rest.  Turn off the electronics.  Be still and spend time with God ALONE.  Be protective of this time.  It should be your first priority.

Be encouraged today.  God doesn’t want you running around spinning plates.  He wants you sitting at His feet and working as His hands and feet.  Press on beloved.  Press on!

Leave a Reply

