May I Ever Tell of His Excellent Greatness

One of the battles I had at obeying God’s call for me to “write” was over the content of what I was to write about.  I’ve settled, over time, on the understanding that I am to write what God brings to my heart and mind each day that will glorify His great name and help others to draw closer to Him.

This is daily life.  This writing is my testimony to my walk with God and His great work in my life.

It is all grace.

All of us will face trials and turmoil in life.  Some will face more difficulty than others, and it can seem so unfair, but in this life we all will have trouble.

Jesus answered them, “Do you now believe? Behold, the hour is coming, indeed it has come, when you will be scattered, each to his own home, and will leave me alone. Yet I am not alone, for the Father is with me. I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.” (John 16:31-33 ESV)

God the father was with Jesus His son in His worst hour of trouble.  That was meant to give the disciples peace as they all abandoned Him.  We will all face tribulation and pain.  We will all suffer, sometimes from our own choices and other times from this fallen world.  But praise God, He knows our suffering well.  Jesus suffered.  And He loves us enough to never leave us nor forsake us in the midst of our pain and suffering.  He makes beauty from our ashes and uses all things for the good of those who are called according to His purposes.  This gives us peace.  Because in the end we know that God has already overcome the world.  This temporary struggle does not compare to the coming glory of the Lord.  Hallelujah!  We can rest in the hands of God knowing that He is always good.

So we do not lose heart. Though our outer self is wasting away, our inner self is being renewed day by day. For this light momentary affliction is preparing for us an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison, as we look not to the things that are seen but to the things that are unseen. For the things that are seen are transient, but the things that are unseen are eternal. (2 Corinthians 4:16-18 ESV)

Don’t lose heart!  Look to the things that are eternal and unseen with human eyes.  God is with you and He loves you.  He isn’t done with you yet.  Praise His great name.  His promises are true.  He is faithful and worthy of our praise.  Be encouraged today in the midst of whatever momentary affliction you face.  Press on beloved, press on.

Read about Fanny Crosby:  Taken from Wikipedia….

At the age of eight Crosby wrote her first poem, which described her condition.[32] Crosby later remarked: “It seemed intended by the blessed providence of God that I should be blind all my life, and I thank him for the dispensation. If perfect earthly sight were offered me tomorrow I would not accept it. I might not have sung hymns to the praise of God if I had been distracted by the beautiful and interesting things about me.”[33] Crosby also once said, “when I get to heaven, the first face that shall ever gladden my sight will be that of my Savior”.

Leave a Reply

