Early Spring Cleaning: Beauty for Ashes

At various times in my life, I have had the overwhelming energy and motivation to purge stuff out of my life and my home.  There have sadly been too few of these times, yet when they come my home has seemingly collected everything that has entered in for the past few years.  Magazines, reading glasses, plastic dishes, toys, clothes, books, bills and other various paperwork, gifts, jewelry, tools, plants, animals…thankfully I haven’t actually gathered any more children but at the moment we do have two grandbabies living with us!  But they are a joy!

The other things are a burden, and it is time once again to purge, thin out, pass on, dust off, and recycle much of what is here.  I think I need a new system!  Stop the inflow!  Somehow I have not put up appropriate barriers or systems to prevent the accumulation of unused things.  I hate waste!  But just because some thing is still useful, doesn’t mean that it is useful to me for this season of my life. 

So for the next few weeks I plan to tackle my early spring cleaning.  I’ll be going through drawers, closets, boxes, and bedrooms to eliminate most everything that I haven’t had use of in the past year or so.  It is time to lighten our load.  I’ll save most of these things for our yard sale.  Every dime we take in will be donated to our Church’s mission fund.  The left over items will all be donated to the Salvation Army.  To God be the glory.

And to prevent a future accumulation I am drawing up some new guidelines.  Guarding our physical house possessions is very similar to guarding our hearts possessions.  Sometimes you need to take some time, do an inventory and throw out what you’ve been holding on to because it is no longer useful and it is weighing you down.  Ask God to reveal to you what you need to hold on to and ask Him to renew your heart and your mind so that your life may bear fruit for His kingdom.  God can make beauty from our ashes.

The Year of the LORD’s Favor

The Spirit of the Lord GOD is upon me, because the LORD has anointed me to bring good news to the poor; he has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and the opening of the prison to those who are bound; to proclaim the year of the LORD’s favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; to comfort all who mourn; to grant to those who mourn in Zion— to give them a beautiful headdress instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the garment of praise instead of a faint spirit; that they may be called oaks of righteousness, the planting of the LORD, that he may be glorified. (Isaiah 61:1-3 ESV)

May we be oaks of righteousness for God’s great glory.  What in your life is weighing you down?  Do something about it.  Change it.  Ask the Lord your God for help.  Be encouraged.  Press on!

Leave a Reply

