The Leaves of the Tree and the River of the Water of Life

I cannot wait to get to heaven where there will be no more sickness!  Well at least that is what I thought God’s word says.  Actually what it says is:

And I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, “Behold, the dwelling place of God is with man. He will dwell with them, and they will be his people, and God himself will be with them as their God. He will wipe away every tear from their eyes, and death shall be no more, neither shall there be mourning, nor crying, nor pain anymore, for the former things have passed away.” (Revelation 21:3-4 ESV)

Well, I’ll certainly take no more crying and no more pain and no more mourning and no more death!

The River of Life

Then the angel showed me the river of the water of life, bright as crystal, flowing from the throne of God and of the Lamb through the middle of the street of the city; also, on either side of the river, the tree of life with its twelve kinds of fruit, yielding its fruit each month. The leaves of the tree were for the healing of the nations. (Revelation 22:1-2 ESV)

And the tree of life has leaves that will be for the healing of the nations….I just love these two verses.  Think back to the Garden of Eden in Genesis.  This river and tree show up at the beginning, in prophecies in the Old Testament at the end of scriptures speaking of our eternity.

Trees and rivers have fascinated me for most of my life.  This may be because my grandfather and father took us to the river most weekends.  I remember climbing high up in the trees on my parents property when I was young.  Now I mostly photograph them.  But their beauty still entrances me.  And fruit!  Don’t get me started on my love of fruit!

I know one day I will get to see this river and this tree of life up close.  That is very exciting to me!

And on the banks, on both sides of the river, there will grow all kinds of trees for food. Their leaves will not wither, nor their fruit fail, but they will bear fresh fruit every month, because the water for them flows from the sanctuary. Their fruit will be for food, and their leaves for healing.” (Ezekiel 47:12 ESV)

And out of the ground the LORD God made to spring up every tree that is pleasant to the sight and good for food. The tree of life was in the midst of the garden, and the tree of the knowledge of good and evil. A river flowed out of Eden to water the garden, and there it divided and became four rivers. (Genesis 2:9-10 ESV)

Rivers of Living Water On the last day of the feast, the great day, Jesus stood up and cried out, “If anyone thirsts, let him come to me and drink. Whoever believes in me, as the Scripture has said, ‘Out of his heart will flow rivers of living water.’” Now this he said about the Spirit, whom those who believed in him were to receive, for as yet the Spirit had not been given, because Jesus was not yet glorified. (John 7:37-39 ESV)

Come to Jesus.  Drink deeply of the water that He has to offer and His Holy Spirit shall flow upon you rivers of living water!  One day these former things will pass away and there will be no more crying, no more death.  Our hope is in the Lord Jesus Christ.  Be encouraged today!  Press on.  He is coming soon.

Leave a Reply

