Go

This is another one of the words that God has been speaking to me for quite a while.  Go and make disciples.  Well, this week I will be going, along with 14 others from our church family to El Salvador for a week to minister to the women and children there and to encourage a group of pastors in their work for the Lord.  A few years ago I was caught by Francis Chan and David Platt and their ministry Multiply.  They stress that as Christians, we are to be disciples of Jesus who make disciples of Jesus.  We are to spread our faith just as the apostles and original disciples did.  They were sent out and so are we to be.

I’ve also been reading another book called “Disciple Making Is… How to Live the Great Commission with Passion and Confidence” by Dave Earley and Rod Dempsey.  I haven’t read this entire book yet, but the concept is the same.  In this book they categorize three stages of being a disciple as seen in scripture with Jesus and his 12 disciples.  The three distinct stages are:  Declaration, Development and Deployment.  They list the goal of the disciple maker as being threefold:  Win the Lost, Disciple the saved, and Multiply disciples (win, grow, send).

I can look at my own walk, in light of these concepts, and see where I have done much of discipling the saved, very little (to my knowledge) of winning the lost, and some of multiplying disciples.  There is much work for me to do.  On this short term mission trip this week I have been given the privilege and honor of sharing the gospel message with all of the children we minister to as well as to the women who will be in attendance at our one day Women’s conference.  Please pray with me that God will speak through me to win the lost and bring glory to His great name!  I am intentionally seeking God given opportunities to balance out the calling of the Great Commission in my life.  I see where my life has been very isolated in my Christian community and how that can lead me to become very Pharisitical in my thinking and talking.  God is at work in my life through His Holy Spirit.  All I must do is listen and obey. 

This certainly takes me outside of my comfort zone.  I have in the past felt that I am just not gifted in these areas.  And the truth is I am not, however God uses the weak for His glory.  I must come humbly before Him allowing Him to use me in whatever manner He sees fit so that He receives all the glory!

I am very excited about this trip!  I marvel at the varied people that He has chosen to serve His kingdom.  What a great privilege to serve alongside each of them!  I am willing to be sent out for Jesus!

And Jesus came and said to them, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you. And behold, I am with you always, to the end of the age.” (Matthew 28:18-20 ESV)

Go therefore and make disciples….baptize them and teach them.  Jesus is with us always!  Be encouraged.  Press on.

Leave a Reply

