God Made: You are His Creation

And the LORD God planted a garden in Eden, in the east, and there he put the man whom he had formed. And out of the ground the LORD God made to spring up every tree that is pleasant to the sight and good for food. The tree of life was in the midst of the garden, and the tree of the knowledge of good and evil. (Genesis 2:8-9 ESV)

I will be reading through the Bible again in 2016.  I’ve taken the opportunity in my quiet time today to get a bit of a head start.  Genesis to Revelation in 365 days is quite a quick pace for me.  There are always things that jump out of scripture that I have questions about and want to know more about.  Today it was the generations of the heavens and earth (2:4).  That word generations caused me to pause.  I am so grateful for the Bible study tools that we have available to us for free!  God has equipped His children.  We are without excuse!

Generations in the original language meant birth record.  God has given us a record of the creation or birth of the heavens and earth.

Then it also struck me that as a Christian I don’t believe in evolution but Divine creation.  I had never wondered about how evolutionist explain the existence of the plant life but I assume it is the same as the animal life.  I just developed.  But God’s Word tells us a very different story.  God created all of it through Jesus Christ and His Holy Spirit.

The Preeminence of Christ

He is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn of all creation. For by him all things were created, in heaven and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or dominions or rulers or authorities—all things were created through him and for him. And he is before all things, and in him all things hold together. (Colossians 1:15-17 ESV)

It is no wonder that I love trees.  God made them pleasant to our sight and good for food.  Not to mention shade!  And God created the first garden for man.  He didn’t just leave us on the rock called earth and expect us to figure it out.  He created everything we need to live an abundant life filled with beauty and awe of Him.  This is all for His glory.

I was blessed with several hours to go hiking at a state park this past weekend.  It is winter here but no snowfall is on the ground.  Just cold and lightly raining that day.  But in the two and a half hours that I was out walking through the forest, I did not see another person.  It was quiet and peaceful and beautiful.  Great quiet time with God as I pray when I walk.

Take some time this week to appreciate God’s creation.  Really look at it and think about the detail of love that God has woven into this life that we live.  It speaks to who our Great God is.  Then open His Word and see the truth of how it all came to be.  Be encouraged.  You are a beautiful part of God’s creation.  Press on.

Leave a Reply

