True Confessions: It Happens to the Best of Us

Therefore, confess your sins to one another and pray for one another, that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous person has great power as it is working. (James 5:16 ESV)

So in the spirit of obedience and fairness I must admit my sins to everyone.  (Well, ok, not all of them.  No one has time for that.  Just the latest ones.)  You see, I’ve allowed life to sneak back in and steal away my time from God. It has been completely unintentional and all for good purposes, but the end result is the same.  Dryness.  Fleshly self.  Old ways reappearing.

It was always difficult for me to find time with the Lord when I was raising my children.  All Christian mothers have faced this same struggle.  We’ll do well for a time, but then some life thing happens changing up our schedule, and down the busy slide we go.

The bottom line is that I must ALWAYS put God first.  For some reason, this culture tells us that making sure our children are happy and well-adjusted by meeting every single request and every single worldly expectation must be our highest priority as a parent.  Why do we buy into that?  I know that it isn’t God’s truth.  Yes our children need to be cared for and provided for, but they should not come before our relationship and time with God daily.  It isn’t really a time management issue as much as it is a self-discipline issue. 

I need to be disciplined with my boundaries with my children, grand-children and even my husband sometimes.  I’m sorry, I can’t do or be that for this time period because I must spend time with God, reading His word and praying.  I’ll help you when my quiet time is done.  You may only interrupt me if there is something extremely urgent.  I know that I must be flexible because there are many people in my life who honestly need my attention.  I know that it isn’t always going to be convenient or at an ideal time for me.  I know that I might need to get a bit less sleep some days to work in my time with God.

I know all of these things yet I have let them all slide.  I have failed to meet daily with God in His word and I can feel it to my core.  I have set a bad example for those very people who have made my life busy again.  I can do better.  I will do better.  I actually have a plan to do better.  I am being intentional so that God will be glorified with my life.

Father God, forgive me for allowing busyness to be an excuse.  Help me to graciously set healthy boundaries with my family so that I can demonstrate to them that You are the most important person in my life each day.  Stir Your Holy Spirit within me to want to be in Your word.  Place a deep desire in my heart for our time together.  Help my struggle to be an encouragement to others.  Amen.

In this morning’s sermon, we read a passage from Matthew chapter 2 about the wise men seeking Jesus.  I was struck anew with the fact that they so desired to meet the Messiah, that they gathered gifts, studied the scriptures, diligently watched for His coming and then set out to find Him.

He’s coming again you know.  I pray that I will be as diligent as the wise men in watching for Him and searching the scriptures to know the signs of His coming.

Don’t let life give you every reason to miss out on the real reason for life.  Be intentional with your time and your energy and your resources.  Let’s seek the Messiah and confess our sins so that we can be healed.  Our country and our world need it.  Come Lord Jesus.  Be encouraged.  Press on.

Leave a Reply

