I Will Rest In His Hands: God is Good, All the Time

We are four days from leaving for the El Camino, and yesterday my back went out on me.  Seriously out.  I’m not flattened, but I am lowed to a very low mobility pace.  Bending and twisting and stairs offer shoots of pain.  Part of me wants to really stew and worry about not getting better in time.  The other side, my faithful self, my new self, knows that God has got this and what will be will be.  He will receive all the glory as this is just one more reminder that I can not do this on my own.  I’m leaning hard on my heavenly Father for His healing, His strength, His timing and His provision.  There is no better place to be.  My to-do list will be tackled.  What doesn’t get done is not important.

So to keep me from becoming conceited because of the surpassing greatness of the revelations, a thorn was given me in the flesh, a messenger of Satan to harass me, to keep me from becoming conceited. Three times I pleaded with the Lord about this, that it should leave me. But he said to me,“My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. 10 For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong. (2 Corinthians 12:7-10)

The pain is a reminder that I’m broken and this is not my eternal home!  Praise Jesus for what He has done for me (and for you)!

The pain gives me empathy and reminds me to pray for others who are suffering physically, emotionally, spiritually.

The pain help me to focus on what is most important.  And the moments of no pain are appreciated at a much deeper level.

This is just a set back in what I had envisioned for this week.  Satan will not discourage nor dissuade me.  God’s purposes in my life will be accomplished by His great power.

I don’t know what you are facing today, but I do know that our great God is with you in it.  Rest in His hands.  Trust in His goodness.  Give God the glory.  Be encouraged.  Press on.

Leave a Reply

