Chasing Jesus: Friend or Foe

I recently was told about Candace Cameron Bure being part of the talk show The View.  This was followed by a posting on facebook about it, so I clicked on the link and found that Candace was asking for Christians to support her specifically on social media because the abundance of the feedback she receives is from her critics.  (I’m simplifying the situation.  I encourage you to be informed yourself)

Her posting started me thinking about my attitude toward the show specifically but more particularly toward those who think differently than I do.  Does my attitude really reflect that of Christ Jesus?  No.  Actually, it does not.  And I’m embarrassed about how I have spoken in the past about such topics.

What witness are we leaving with the lost when we refuse to hear what they have to say and discount their points of view simply because “we know better”?  How loving is it for us to take a stand that says, “I don’t associate with those people.”?  How much of the character of Jesus do we display when we argue over political correctness, or rage at political decisions that cut against, and even into, our faith?  How we speak the truth is important.  Read Ephesians chapter 4.

To be honest, I don’t watch The View, as I don’t watch many TV shows, because they don’t honor my God.  I don’t participate in entertainment that would dishonor Him.  Hence, my TV doesn’t come on very much.  Garbage in garbage out.  But to address Candace’s viewpoint, the only voice that our media is hearing is the voice of non-believers.  As Christians, weren’t we sent out into the world to share the good news of Jesus?  He didn’t ask us to sit at home in isolation within our own little community honoring God.  He asked us to go out.  He asked us to take the good news out, and not to return evil for evil but to bless those who curse us.

Candace is walking in the way of Jesus.  She is being hated because the world first hated Jesus.

Brother will deliver brother over to death, and the father his child, and children will rise against parents and have them put to death, and you will be hated by all for my name’s sake. But the one who endures to the end will be saved. When they persecute you in one town, flee to the next, for truly, I say to you, you will not have gone through all the towns of Israel before the Son of Man comes. (Matthew 10:21-23 ESV)

If the world hates you, know that it has hated me before it hated you. If you were of the world, the world would love you as its own; but because you are not of the world, but I chose you out of the world, therefore the world hates you. Remember the word that I said to you: ‘A servant is not greater than his master.’ If they persecuted me, they will also persecute you. If they kept my word, they will also keep yours. But all these things they will do to you on account of my name, because they do not know him who sent me. (John 15:18-21 ESV)

So today I hope you have the Bible in your hand and your feet out in this fallen world.  We have work to do beloved.  You know the one who sent Jesus.  You know God the Father, Jesus the Son, and you have God’s Holy Spirit within you.  Share it.  Love others with God’s truth.  Give them the grace, mercy and forgiveness that you receive from Him.  Many will hate us.  But some will find salvation through faith in Jesus Christ.

Turn on your TV to understand.  Use your voice to bring glory to God’s great name.  Speak the truth with great love.  Represent Jesus Christ well to those who so desperately need Him.  You only have one life to lay down for our King.  Be encouraged.  Encourage one another.  Press on.

Leave a Reply

