God is In the Details: Do You Have Eyes to See Him?

Gustave Flaubert said back in the 1800s that God is in the details.  After years of Biblical study I have no doubt that He is.  Not the smallest thing has escaped God’s sight.  He is the creator of all, and He has plans and purposes for all. 

I was scanning the contents on my desk this morning and trying to organize my day (at least in my head) to get several things accomplished.  When reading through my morning email messages, several other to do’s appeared. Details, details, details!  But they are important.  And in the midst of them you can see God’s sovereign hand.  You just need to be plugged into His presence and walking in the Spirit.

I know that those are two very “Christianized” statements, but here is what I mean by them.  If I am not connected intentionally, consciously to Jesus each morning before my feet hit the floor, then I’ve found that my agenda for the day is just that, MY agenda.  If however, I have started my day with the LORD God before my feet hit the floor, then I have surrendered my day, to His direction and will, and I am looking to Him for guidance in each of these little decisions that I must make throughout my day.  He is my guide because I’ve intentionally connected with Him.  I’m plugged in to His presence.

Walking in the Spirit is in reference to being aware of and in tune to God’s Holy Spirit.  This is an acquired ability that one learns after accepting Jesus as your Savior.  It is then that you receive God’s Holy Spirit within you.  He (the Spirit) is your counselor and helper.  He brings scripture to mind at just the right time.  He nudges my heart and mind to do, or to avoid, certain things.  Often these are very subtle nudges, but over time you learn to quickly identify them and to obey them.  As you obey the nudges you learn that God is there doing the nudging and that obedience brings blessings that you cannot imagine!  It builds your faith and strengthens your walk.  The Holy Spirit also helps me to Worship God throughout the day in song and in service to others.

And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him. (Colossians 3:17 ESV)

So today, I hope that you have taken time to plug into God and to walk in the Spirit.  Then at the end of the day, you can thank God for what He has accomplished through you and you can release those things that did not get done to another day.

God is in the details so pay attention to them.  He will be a friend closer than a brother.  Let Him reveal Himself to you in the smallest of things.  God is with you and in you and for you beloved.

Praise His Holy Name!  Be encouraged.  Press on.

Leave a Reply

