Confessions of a So-So Hostess: Walking Humbly in His Great Grace

I have been cleaning my house, and let’s be honest here, hiding things away in cabinets, drawers and closets, in preparation of hosting a women’s fellowship night.  As I was moving our dining room chairs to clean under the table, satan started creeping into my thoughts.  Inadequacy was trying to grip my heart until my sweet Savior spoke words of truth to me.  I’m a work in progress and right where He wants me to be. 

I did not come by the hospitality gift naturally.  Truth be told, although I’ve learned a lot from watching more gifted ladies in the role of hostess, I struggle with being a good one.  I really enjoy having company here, but I just am not skilled at anticipating my guest’s needs.  I kind of assume that they know what cupboard to get into to find the glasses.  So if you are ever a guest in my home, please just ask me.  I’m not trying to be rude.  Praise God that I have sisters in Christ who know me well enough to jump in and help me.  I guess it is kind of like watching a slowly sinking ship.  They have pity on this dear soul!

Learning to rest in the Lord and not allow satan to steal our joy is a difficult thing.  We must take every thought captive to the obedience of Christ Jesus.  The Lord reminded me that things don’t need to be in perfect order.  My furniture doesn’t need to be without spot or blemish.  My guest just want to feel welcome and comfortable.  That I think I can handle!  I’m not trying to impress anyone, I just want to have encouraging fellowship that draws us all closer to Jesus.

So here’s to dust bunnies under the couch, splatter marks all over my kitchen cabinets, and dog snot drips on the floor! (If you are planning to come over tonight I promise that I’m mopping!)  Since my girls are older now I’m past that cheerios in the couch cushions stage or rather for us it was more like week old half eaten tacos in the afghans and dehydrated apples in the closets…need I go on.

Anywho, I hope that one of these days I’ll feel comfortable having more than one person come to my home to see how we really live!  Why do we feel the need to clean our homes to a condition that we rarely see simply because some friends are coming over?  Oh, yeah….because we’d like them to come back!  So my housekeeping routine leaves a lot to be desired, but that is mostly because I spend my time on things that will matter for eternity, rather than killing myself for something that will be undone in less than 24 hours.

Thank You Jesus, that You have not called me to be perfect.  Thank You Father that I can invest my life in the eternal things like raising my children, serving the Kingdom, and discipling and encouraging others to follow after You.  Help me Lord to not be caught up in the temporary trappings of this world.  Amen.

I don’t know what your day brings you to today, but know this, you do not have to be perfect.  Jesus was.  You just need to walk humbly in His great grace and be a blessing to those in your life.  Live for the eternal Kingdom of God and you will never regret it.

Take every thought captive. Be encouraged today.  Dust on!

I mean, press on!

Leave a Reply

