Worn Out Shoes – Preparing for Glory

My feet are notoriously difficult to fit.  When I go shoe shopping both of my girls just moan because they know what they are in for.  What seems like hours of watching me try this shoe and then that one.  All to end in me just walking away or buying a pair that I wear a handful of times and then donate to good will.  And as much as I really appreciate high heeled shoes, I can’t stand to wear them.  So when it came time to start this El Camino training I thought I was going to be dealing with blisters on my blisters, which turned out to be quite true.  It took a while for my feet to adjust to this new way of life. 

When I got serious about it, my husband encouraged me to go find a nice pair of hiking boots.  This is one of my “God’s provision” moments to this calling.  The first pair of boots that I tried, fit so well that I bought them, hiked in them 5 miles on the first day and had NO BLISTERS!  They are such a good fit for my feet that I’ve ordered 2 more pairs since then of the exact same make and model.  My first worn out pair I gave away and then regretted doing so.  My second set is just now wearing out.  I’ll be keeping those for my new “work” boots.

I noticed yesterday while taking the photo for my blog that the lining inside the heel area has worn through (not unusual for my shoes).  I have a broken blister just on the back of my Achilles tendon that I’ve been nursing over the past week.  I’m certain that this injury is the result of that worn out lining.

One of the life lessons of the Camino is that your shoes are very important to reach your long term goal.  Foot care is vital.  Kind of like the tires on your car.  You must take care of them if you expect to travel very far.  I’ve learned about compeed, blister threading, wicking socks, liner socks and the like.  So it is time to switch to pair three of my Keens for my training and I’ll actually be wearing this pair on the Camino.

It brings a smile to my face when God shows up in these seemingly insignificant ways.  He reveals Himself to you, and He shows you the way to go.  I have such a rich history with God that I shouldn’t continue to be surprised, but I am.  He is so good, so generous and so faithful.  He knows what delights my heart and He continues to bring me one delight after another on this journey.  This week I’ve seen a deer, a rabbit, countless butterflies and flowers, beautiful sunrises and felt gentle cool breezes.  His grace and mercy are new each day.  As difficult as it can be to follow Jesus, the blessings there are rich and rewarding. 

So we do not lose heart. Though our outer self is wasting away, our inner self is being renewed day by day. For this light momentary affliction is preparing for us an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison, as we look not to the things that are seen but to the things that are unseen. For the things that are seen are transient, but the things that are unseen are eternal. (2 Corinthians 4:16-18 ESV)

We are to look to those things that are unseen as well.  The unseen on this journey is the renewal of my inner self (but the outter self is coming along on the ride too).  God is disciplining my soul and preparing my mind, soul and body for this pilgrimage.  He has encouraged me all along the way so that I have not lost heart.  This is a light and momentary affliction that is preparing an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison. 

I’m claiming that promise.  Bring on the eternal weight of glory God!  All for You Lord Jesus!

What season of preparation are you in?  Have you checked your shoes lately?  Some seasons require several pairs of shoes!  I pray that you are able to walk humbly with our Lord as you seek to bring glory to His name and to see His face.  God is faithful to provide what you need.  Remember these trials are temporary but produce everlasting, eternal glory!

Pay attention to the details.  Ask God to equip you with what you need.  He is faithful and will pour out His blessings to your great delight.  Look for what is unseen.  Be encouraged.  Press on!

Leave a Reply

