In the Midst of Busyness: The Lord is My Portion

Our family is months away from great changes.  God is moving us all in different directions.  Scattering His children to do His work.  To spread His truth.  We are preparing for graduations, moves, and a new baby.  We are dealing with cancer, surgeries, and callings.  God is good.  All the time.  His mercies are new each morning.

In the midst of the preparations and plans, I take time, I make time, to listen to God, to read His word and to come to Him on my knees in prayer.  He is in control of all of these changes.  He is directing our steps and He has good deeds for us to do which He planned a long, long time ago.  If I don’t seek His direction, I’ll miss His opportunities and His blessings. 

I’ll be teaching over the next several months out of the book of Daniel.  I’ve begun studying the book of Isaiah as I plan to participate in a Sunday School class on that book.  Study.  Teach.  Some days, there simply aren’t enough hours in the day.  So I need God to help me accomplish that which is important to Him.  Controlling the tendency to be a Martha, I desire to sit at Jesus’ feet like Mary.  I want to prioritize relationships over tasks.  Sometimes that means that laundry doesn’t get done today, or that my yard isn’t in perfect shape, or that I learn to love dust.

Our lives are very short when compared to our eternity.  We are just a breath.  Just a vapor.

Come now, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go into such and such a town and spend a year there and trade and make a profit”—yet you do not know what tomorrow will bring. What is your life? For you are a mist that appears for a little time and then vanishes. (James 4:13-14 ESV)

My time with my children and grandchildren near me on a regular basis is about to end.  With God’s grace and strength, I’m embracing the new season that He is leading us all into.  One day at a time. Today it is mentoring, being mentored, serving alongside a dear sister in Christ, enjoying and serving my family, bringing glory to God.  Remembering to rest in the Lord and not try to run ahead of Him.

The steadfast love of the LORD never ceases; his mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. “The LORD is my portion,” says my soul, “therefore I will hope in him.” The LORD is good to those who wait for him, to the soul who seeks him. It is good that one should wait quietly for the salvation of the LORD. It is good for a man that he bear the yoke in his youth. (Lamentations 3:22-27 ESV)

Father God, thank You for the privilege of being called Your child and being used by You.  Thank You God for spring, green grass, birds singing, colorful flowers, and warm sunshine.  Your mercies bring hope.  Your faithfulness gives life.  Your holiness and truth are unending.  Help me to understand Your word and to obey all that You’ve called me to do.  Use me Lord.  In the sweet name of Jesus I pray.  Amen.

As the Lord strengthens and supports me in this time, He is also supporting my family.  He pours out His love on all who seek Him.  He walks with us through difficult trials in life.  He gives us eyes to see all that He is doing around us.

Make time today to spend with Jesus.  Thank Him for the many blessings He’s given you.  Share what you are learning with those around you.

Be encouraged.  Press on.

One thought on “In the Midst of Busyness: The Lord is My Portion

Leave a Reply

