Do you really know who God is?

I spend each morning (day really) with the Lord.  I know Him.  I know His voice, His ways, His heart.  I’ve never seen Him, yet I know Him intimately.  I see how He works in my life and in the lives of others around me.  I’ve experienced His provision and His protection.  I’ve also experienced His distance and His discipline.  He is my heavenly Father.  This is the intimate personal relationship that God desires.  It is never perfect.  I fall short and get busy like everyone else.  But the older I get, the more I want to spend time with Him more than anything.

The long hours of walking training for the El Camino have provided an abundance of quiet time.  Time to talk to God and time to listen.  He has a captive audience.  My ipod broke several months ago, so now when I walk outside I have nothing to keep my brain distracted.  It is me, the Lord, and the road.

He came to his own, and his own people did not receive him. But to all who did receive him, who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God, who were born, not of blood nor of the will of the flesh nor of the will of man, but of God. (John 1:11-13 ESV)

If you want a closer relationship with God, ask Him to give it to you.  He will.  Ask Him to reveal more of Himself, to help you better understand His word.  Ask Him to show you anything in your life and heart that may be preventing you from walking closely with Him.  Be ready, He’ll show you.  If He is really a priority for you, you need to make time in your life for Him.  Start pruning away the unnecessary.

See what kind of love the Father has given to us, that we should be called children of God; and so we are. The reason why the world does not know us is that it did not know him. Beloved, we are God’s children now, and what we will be has not yet appeared; but we know that when he appears we shall be like him, because we shall see him as he is. And everyone who thus hopes in him purifies himself as he is pure. (1 John 3:1-3 ESV)

A friend posted this video this morning and I thought it was a perfect picture of how we are to know our heavenly Father.  This is the intimacy that God desires for you.  I hope that if you don’t have this, that you will ask for it and be obedient enough to sacrifice the good in trade for God’s best.

Go find your Father.  He is waiting for you.  There is only one right choice.

Be encouraged.  Press on.

Leave a Reply

