Write – Walk – Study – Teach

These last few months have been a great time of growth for me.  God has revealed parts of my heart that are not in line with His will or His word.  He is preparing me for the empty nest stage of life that is quickly coming my way.  He has shored up my moorings with His word and His love.  I’ve been tempted to stray from God’s calling, and I am ashamed to say that I’ve even daydreamed about what life would be like if I were to go a different route.  What could we do with an extra $30 or $40 thousand dollars a year?  Then my Holy Spirit steps in to remind me of God’s truth – His ways are the best.

Walking in His will is where blessing is found. 

It is also where sacrifices are made.

Life is filled with choices.  God has granted us that free will; to choose Him or to choose the world, to love those things that He loves or to be filled with ourselves.  And I have to be the first to admit that my head says it shouldn’t be a hard decision, but the wickedness of my heart says that it certainly is.  I have much room for growth in my heart.  Living in a material world can be difficult, and social media surely isn’t helpful.  But at our recent revival the question was posed:  “Am I willing to be materially poor so that I or others can be spiritually rich?” 

God asked me to leave a great part-time job just blocks from my house working in the ministry in 2011.  I finally, did so in late 2012 (with many tears I might add).  At the time He was calling me to teach in women’s ministry at my church and to start this blog; to write.  Since I stepped out in faith and walked away from that income, He has added more to His calling; walk (El Camino de Santiago).  So I laced up my tennis shoes in early September 2013.  I have yet to reach the Camino, but I’m still walking and planning to go whenever God says it is time.  I’ve lost 40 pounds in the process.  Praise God for His great blessings!  And now He has me neck deep in studying prophecy in scripture.  In just two short weeks I’ll be leading a summer class on Daniel.  Write, Walk, Study, Teach.

Life looks different when you are walking in God’s will.  What the world says is a blessing is actually a curse.  God’s blessings are richer and more rewarding than anything this world has to offer.  He gives us abundant life and peace that surpasses all understanding.  He has granted us the ability to store up our treasure in heaven; treasure that doesn’t rust or rot or burn up in the fire.

I am willing to look different and to live differently than others.  I am willing to sacrifice temporary treasure for God’s eternal rewards.  I am willing to sell all that I have and follow Jesus wherever He leads.  None of this stuff is mine anyway.  It is ALL His.  It is all temporary.

Lord, help me to remember that You are the owner, master, Lord of all.  It isn’t our money.  It isn’t our house.  It isn’t our car.  It isn’t our time.  These have all been graciously given to me for a time to benefit Your kingdom and to be used for Your glory as You will.  Place a burning passion within me to crave obedience to Your calling on my life.  Help me not run ahead of you.  Help me to rest in Your perfect timing.  Use me.  Fill me with Your Holy Spirit.  Help me to love others well, Lord.  Amen.

What has God asked you to do that you are arguing with Him about, procrastinating over, fearing?  Are you willing to step out of your comfort zone to step into God’s great grace?  Trust me when I tell you that He will be with you each step of the way and He is faithful.  His promises are true.  Jesus died for you.  He has purpose for your life.  Seek Him and He will show you.

Be encouraged.  God loves to bless His children.  Press on.

Lay Up Treasures in Heaven

Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal, but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also. (Matthew 6:19-21 ESV)

Leave a Reply

