Rebooted after Revival

We’ve just finished up two weeks of revival meetings at our church.  I cannot capture the work that God has done and is doing in our entire congregation in one blog post, but I can share what God has done and is doing in my life.  I was unable to attend all the meetings due to a viral illness that I contracted.  But other than the few days I didn’t attend, I was always blessed by the worship time, prayer time, testimonies given, and reminders of God’s truth through the preaching of His Word.  I continued with my own quiet time and Bible study throughout these days, and God has interwoven some critical points between the two.

Humility in heart, purity in person, submission to God’s authority as Lord of our lives, commitment to obedience to His commands and call on our lives, forgiveness and restoration in my relationships, intentional parenting, prayers of repentance and supplication, generosity in giving, and more.  Revival is intended for God’s people to be brought back into right relationship with Him; to stir the Holy Spirit within us, to fan into flame the spark of our faith.  We need an accurate view of ourselves as well as an accurate view of God – the creator of the universe – who holds His creation in the palm of His hand.

Let my life be a fork in the road for those who meet me.  ~ Jim Elliott

This is like trying to swallow an elephant whole or trying to drink from a fire hose.  There is so much deep water to tell you about that just the attempt seems futile.

But here goes.

I knew, going into the beginning of the revival, that I must humble myself before God and others.  I knew that God was going to pull out my pride and put it on display for me to clearly see.  Pride is something that I continue to battle and must always be vigilant to nip in the bud.  But God wants to remove it from me and I’d love for that to occur.  I want to always walk in humility.  I simply don’t know how to do that, but I’m learning.  Here are some of the statements and questions that really impacted me over the past couple of weeks.

Love one another with brotherly affection. Outdo one another in showing honor. (Romans 12:10 ESV)

How do I know if I’m being respectful?  Do I compliment and pray for others as much as I criticize, compare or complain?  Do I display acceptance and admiration of others?  Am I adaptable to consider the interests of others?  Am I a good listener (without interruption)?  How do I handle situations where others disagree with me?

I must be willing to be materially poor in order that I or others can be spiritually rich.

Am I real, honest, humble, transparent and fully surrendered before God?

Openness before man is genuine proof of sincerity before God.  Can I freely tell others of my shortcomings without tearing myself down, but rather, in testimony of what God has done in my heart and in my life?

Lord, help me to grow old without a complaining spirit.  Help me be a praiser of people and of God.

God is sovereign and in control – I am not.  The Lord is my portion, therefore I have HOPE in Him.

Seek to understand, not to be understood.  Disagree without being disagreeable.  Give a gentle answer.

When you are wrong, admit it.  When you are right, keep quiet.  (Jesus sees and knows)

There is one whose rash words are like sword thrusts, but the tongue of the wise brings healing. (Proverbs 12:18 ESV)

Intentionally teaching God’s ways to children requires setting aside to-do lists, agendas and time.  We never drift toward godliness.

Accusations harden the will but asking questions pierces the heart.  Ask questions to get to the motive of the behavior and the heart attitude of the child.

It is almost always inconvenient to make the life adjustments that God wants us to make.

All we truly deserve is hell.  Anything else we receive is God’s great grace.

You will never embrace God’s will until you understand God’s ways.

Who has measured the waters in the hollow of his hand and marked off the heavens with a span, enclosed the dust of the earth in a measure and weighed the mountains in scales and the hills in a balance? Who has measured the Spirit of the LORD, or what man shows him his counsel? (Isaiah 40:12-13 ESV)

We should be able to apply in the dark what we have learned in the light.

Learn to trust the heart of God even when you can’t see the hand of God at work.  Silence is not indifference from God.

Make me little and unknown, prized by God alone.

The will of God is always purposeful, beneficial, liberating, rewarding, sufficient, and requires sacrifice.

Suffering perfects Christlikeness in our lives.  Suffering is not conflict nor chastisement.  Suffering is pressure, struggles, the tests of God, satanic attack allowed by God in our lives.

In this you rejoice, though now for a little while, if necessary, you have been grieved by various trials, so that the tested genuineness of your faith—more precious than gold that perishes though it is tested by fire—may be found to result in praise and glory and honor at the revelation of Jesus Christ. (1 Peter 1:6-7 ESV)

Straining Toward the Goal

Not that I have already obtained this or am already perfect, but I press on to make it my own, because Christ Jesus has made me his own. Brothers, I do not consider that I have made it my own. But one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead, I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus. (Philippians 3:12-14 ESV)

God has more for you beloved.  The creator of the universe loves you.  Humble yourself before Him.  Seek Him.  Read the prayer of Daniel in Daniel chapter 9.  Although it was for the Israelites, it fully applies to us today.

Be encouraged.  Press on.

Leave a Reply

