Excited About His Word

If it were up to me, I’d spend 6 or more hours each day in God’s word.  Seriously.  It is that exciting to me.  There is so much there to learn and so much that displays future events and God’s glory.  It is a treasure hunt and I love it.  I’ve been studying the Bible now for over 25 years.  Because I have often been a stay at home mother, I’ve had more time than many and taken more time than most to read God’s word; so this isn’t a new venture for me.

I had the opportunity a few years ago while on a mission trip to speak to a group of prospective pastors – Biblical studies students – in Nicaragua.  I told them that I have a great education – two degrees – but that the most important book in the world to study is the Holy Bible.  That is the book of life and truth.  That is our compass and one of the ways God works to change hearts and lives.  I encouraged them, as I encourage you, never think that you know enough.  Never think that once you’ve read it that you are done.  Trust me when I tell you that there is MORE there.  Start digging.  Ask questions.  Seek God’s truth.

What an interesting book it is even on its surface.  There are some really bizarre stories in the Bible.  Just read the book of Daniel (really, pick any book of the Bible you like).  I am so thankful to have a sister in Christ digging into the word with me.  We are sharing all that each of us finds.  We get so excited about it that our voices raise, and we’re talking at the same time.  You’d link we’d discovered a winning lottery ticket or something!  In truth, what we are finding is worth more!  The mysteries revealed are a true treasure that few discover. 

It is such a delight to see how God has woven His word together throughout 66 different books written by 40 different authors over a vast span of time and yet it fits together perfectly just like a puzzle, revealing multiple layers of meaning and application.  It is a work of God’s glory.  If all you know of the scriptures is what is in it for you, you’ve missed the boat.  Yes there is definitely material there that applies to how to live as a Christian, but there is also the bigger picture of God’s plan and His glory and what our role in that plan is to be.

If you love me, you will keep my commandments. And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another Helper, to be with you forever, even the Spirit of truth, whom the world cannot receive, because it neither sees him nor knows him. You know him, for he dwells with you and will be in you. (John 14:15-17 ESV)

Here’s a truth for you.  Unless you have God’s Holy Spirit within you, His scriptures will not mean much to you and you will have great difficulty understanding them.

The natural person does not accept the things of the Spirit of God, for they are folly to him, and he is not able to understand them because they are spiritually discerned. (1 Corinthians 2:14 ESV)

So before you open your Bible, make sure that you have accepted Jesus as your savior and, as a result, have God’s Holy Spirit within you.  Ask God to reveal His truth to you.  Learn how to really study the Bible.  Seek out someone who can help you.  Make sure you share what you are learning with another believer (or two or three) so that you are not led astray.  At a minimum, open His Word and just read what is there.  God’s word does not return void.

so shall my word be that goes out from my mouth; it shall not return to me empty, but it shall accomplish that which I purpose, and shall succeed in the thing for which I sent it. (Isaiah 55:11 ESV)

Trust me when I tell you that what is in God’s Word is far more interesting and better for you than anything on the internet or the television!  (unless they are teaching God’s word)  Be intentional with your time.  MAKE the time to study His word; you won’t regret it.

Don’t miss the boat.  Dig in to God’s deep truths.  God has a plan, and you are part of it.  Know your part.  Be encouraged.  Press on.

All Scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness, that the man of God may be complete, equipped for every good work. (2 Timothy 3:16-17 ESV)

One thought on “Excited About His Word

Leave a Reply

