The Battlefield – Just Win for Today

This morning I was mulling over my circumstances.  Never a good idea.  I spent my usual time in prayer which always includes me lifting others up and asking God to work in my heart and through my life.  I ask Him to order my steps and light my path.  Once I feel I MUST get out of bed, I start my day and my to-do list begins.  When I stay focused on Him, God frequently reorders things that I’ve planned to do.  Sometimes I allow satan to do the same thing by taking my focus off of God.  Today will not be one of those days. 

I was so blessed to spend the day yesterday with my sweet sister in Christ as she had an outpatient procedure that turned into an ER visit and a hospital stay.  We were able to chat, worship, read God’s word, pray, and share our lives.  It was a sweet time in a bitter circumstance.  Funny how God can make that happen!  God reordered our day and Satan did not win.

When I’m honest with myself, this year looks like it will be an overwhelming year for me, one that I’m not certain I can take.  Although I think being honest is the best route, looking ahead in fear isn’t.   (And truth be told, looking ahead isn’t really honest either – it is only speculation.) This focus allows satan to try to poke his ugly head into my business.  Whenever I try to write the story of how my year is going to unfold, whenever I run ahead of God, my circumstances loom large through the lens of the evil one, and my focus has left my Father in heaven.

This is when Holy Spirit calls me back home.

Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light. (Matthew 11:28-30 ESV)

Sometimes God asks us to walk a path that we really don’t want to go down.  This isn’t how I planned life would go.  This isn’t how I would write this story.  But this isn’t my story to write – it is His.  And when I come to Him – who is gentle and lowly in heart – I find my rest.  He is with me.  He comforts me.

God has a different lens He wants me to see through – His love.

For this reason I remind you to fan into flame the gift of God, which is in you through the laying on of my hands, for God gave us a spirit not of fear but of power and love and self-control. (2 Timothy 1:6-7 ESV)

God has given me His Holy Spirit to be my counselor and guide.  This is His gift to us in this difficult life; a spirit of power and love and self-control. And oh what a difference this makes.  When I look at my year ahead with this lens I see blessings in the love that I have for others.  I see power in the circumstances that allow me to praise God and bring glory to His great name.  I see self-control, where in my own power there would be chaos and high drama.

What a gift God has given us!  His Holy Spirit is second only to the gift of salvation through Jesus Christ His only son.  When we accept Jesus as our savior, we receive the Holy Spirit.  Now that is love.  He doesn’t just save us from death, He equips us in the meantime for His mission!

So put on your armor.  Stand ready for battle.  Be watchful.  God has a mission for you today!  Keep your eyes on Him and He will light your path and order your steps.  Be fully present filled with His Holy Spirit.

One day at a time Lord Jesus.  Be encouraged.  Press on.

Be watchful, stand firm in the faith, act like men, be strong. Let all that you do be done in love. (1 Corinthians 16:13-14 ESV)

Leave a Reply

