Grape Seeds and Worship Songs

Random I know… but that is how this mind rolls.  I’ve started using grape seed oil in my cooking as one small step to better health for God’s glory.  But then I did a google search about the health benefits and found that they are mostly absent.  Look for yourself.  Anyway, the idea of grape seeds struck me as slightly amusing.  I remember as a child eating grapes with seeds in them and having to filter out and spit out the yucky seeds.  But I can’t recall in recent years that last time I ate a grape with seeds in it.  Are we that lazy and picky with our foods that we’ve genetically modified everything from grapes, to watermelons, to cucumbers to grow without the seeds that God intended for them to have?

And God said, “Behold, I have given you every plant yielding seed that is on the face of all the earth, and every tree with seed in its fruit. You shall have them for food. (Genesis 1:29 ESV)

In the Garden of Eden, the perfect creation where God had given Adam and Eve food that was reproducible, abundant, and varied, seeds were designed by God for our sustainment.  I wonder if Adam or Eve complained about the annoyance of having to remove the seeds from their food, or did they see God’s blessing in the seeds; something they carefully saved and replanted by sowing them into the fertile soil.

We, in America, are spoiled to such a level that I cringe at what God thinks of us.  We’ve moved away from embracing God’s blessings and caring for His creation to becoming a culture of “how can I personally profit from this”.  Just like the grape seed oil (which is a way for wine producers to, forgive the pun, squeeze as much profit from their production waste as possible), companies market products deceptively, even fund faulty research to support their claims in order to make money at the cost of people’s health and the health of our planet.

And God blessed them. And God said to them, “Be fruitful and multiply and fill the earth and subdue it, and have dominion over the fish of the sea and over the birds of the heavens and over every living thing that moves on the earth.” (Genesis 1:28 ESV)

God gave Adam the administration and management responsibilities over His creation.  He created what was good – even very good and gave it to man to fill and subdue and have dominion over.  He blessed them with this creation.  It was for their use but I don’t believe He intended for man to abuse, recreate, alter, destroy, pervert, nor neglect it.  Then the fall of man happened and we’ve been making a mess of things ever since.  Yet God continues to allow us to reap blessings from His creation.  What great grace!

Most mornings when I wake up, there is a worship song playing over and over in my head and my heart.  This past week I’ve been humming Come as You Are by David Crowder.  As I continue my study of prophecy and the book of Revelation, I have been keeping my eyes on eternity.  God’s great story is time in a timelessness that will redeem the broken.  This current brokenness will not stand.  Earth has no sorrow that heaven can’t heal.

Even as we remain in the midst of this brokenness, God is still writing His great story.  He is tarrying to draw all who are His to eternal life through His perfect son Jesus Christ.  Come as you are.  Soon and very soon, He will return for His bride.  Even so.  Come Lord Jesus.

Be encouraged.  Thank God for His abundant blessings in the midst of the brokenness.  Press on.

Leave a Reply

