Timeless Mysteries Unveiled

Time is a funny thing.  There are days that never seem to end and at other times we wonder where in the world the season went.  There is just no way my children grew up that fast.  It seems to be relative to my busyness and my suffering.  Pain has a way of slowing time way down.  Walking on my treadmill, time passes too slowly.  Studying God’s word, time passes very quickly.  I can literally spend hours there in His word if my schedule would allow it.

It is hard to wrap my mind around the fact that God is timeless.  Someday I wonder if we will be too.  Is there a clock running in eternity?  Eternal life on the new earth with God will be my reality one day, many days, forever; no more death, no more decay.

I’ve been studying the end times in Revelation for the past few months.  I’m learning a great deal and really having to invest a lot of time and brain cells to this endeavor, but God is guiding me, equipping me and teaching me His mysteries.  Mysteries that He has hidden to most and yet made visible to those who seek Him.  You really must seek Him with all that you are to see His deep hidden truths.  I’m sure this was an intentional plan.  You must deeply want to know the truth, to know God.

In Daniel he is told to seal up the word that in the end times, knowledge will increase.  It has! (Embarrassingly, I’m always so surprised.)

But you, Daniel, shut up the words and seal the book, until the time of the end. Many shall run to and fro, and knowledge shall increase.” (Daniel 12:4 ESV)

The internet has literally laid knowledge at our fingertips.  More information than any previous generation.  For those of us who stop running to and fro and sit at the feet of Jesus to learn, the mysteries will be revealed.  Ask God for wisdom and He will give it generously!  Wisdom is knowing how to rightly apply knowledge!

If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask God, who gives generously to all without reproach, and it will be given him. But let him ask in faith, with no doubting, for the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea that is driven and tossed by the wind. (James 1:5-6 ESV)

He changes times and seasons; he removes kings and sets up kings; he gives wisdom to the wise and knowledge to those who have understanding; he reveals deep and hidden things; he knows what is in the darkness, and the light dwells with him. (Daniel 2:21-22 ESV)

I still have more questions.  Lots of questions.  So I’ll press on in my studies.  Reading the writings of other men and women on the subject can be helpful, but studying the Word of God, looking at original language, reading commentaries, asking for wisdom in prayer are the best way to open up new layers of understanding God’s truth.  He has written a book for us to know Him.  He speaks to us through His Holy Word.  I hope that when you read scripture and have questions that you’ll dig deeply and seek God’s truth.

Father God, thank You for giving us the treasure of Your word.  Help me Lord, as I study to understand it and apply it.  Help me to test everything against Your word – the truth.  Help me to see the signs of the times and to always be ready.  Thank You Lord for those who have walked this road before me and can help guide the way.  Amen.

Dig in deeply.  Spend some time – it passes way too quickly.  Be encouraged.  Press on.

IMG_8171

Leave a Reply

