Be still and know that I am God – Being Rich Toward God

When is the last time you sat still in front of a blank computer screen waiting to hear from the Lord?  For me, the answer is today.  Silence all around.  A beautiful backdrop to my computer screen of gently falling snow.  Being still.  Quieting my heart and my mind so that I can listen well.

Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble. (Matthew 6:34 ESV)

One day at a time Lord Jesus.

IMG_8169

I’m a big planner.  I like to know what’s coming up so that I can prepare in advance and not be caught in a crunch.  I want to put my best foot forward.  I want to do my best, and planning helps me accomplish this.  I don’t want to disappoint people.  I don’t want to be viewed as foolish.  I don’t want to fail.

One day at a time Lord Jesus.

But God said to him, ‘Fool! This night your soul is required of you, and the things you have prepared, whose will they be?’ So is the one who lays up treasure for himself and is not rich toward God.” (Luke 12:20-21 ESV)

For all the nations of the world seek after these things, and your Father knows that you need them. Instead, seek his kingdom, and these things will be added to you. (Luke 12:30-31 ESV)

Instead, seek His Kingdom….be rich toward God.

Sell your possessions, and give to the needy. Provide yourselves with moneybags that do not grow old, with a treasure in the heavens that does not fail, where no thief approaches and no moth destroys. For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also. (Luke 12:33-34 ESV)

Where is your treasure?  Where are your plans?  What are you worrying about?  Do you trust God with tomorrow?  Are you seeking His kingdom above all things?  Are you rich toward God, or is he an afterthought to your long to do list?  Are you seeking to please Jesus or people (or a person)?

God called the planner a “fool” because he had traded eternal rewards for temporary, earthly treasure and wealth.  He no doubt worked hard to achieve his harvest, yet he would never receive the rewards. His focus was on acquiring earthly wealth and not on the things of God.  Are you working hard for something that has no lasting eternal value?  A 1,000 years from now, is your work or worry going to have made any difference for anyone?

When we seek God’s ways and His kingdom, we are investing in eternity.  When we work hard to share the truth of the gospel, our harvest has eternal fruitfulness.  When we train up our children in God’s ways, our labors produce the fruit of righteousness and bring glory to God’s great name.

Take one day at a time.  Don’t worry about tomorrow, God is already there.  Seek Him and follow after Him.  You will be amazed at what He will do in your life.

Be still and know Him.  Be encouraged.  Press on.

Leave a Reply

