Eyes to See: Learning to be Content

The beautiful colors of summer outside my window have now changed to white and grey.  Winter has set in.  My daughter and I were trying to explain to my son in love how this time of year gives us cabin fever.  Because we are full time stay at home mothers, there are many weeks where our outings are limited to grocery stores and church.  I’ve been inside this house since October with only a few cherished trips with friends and visits to family.  I love being outdoors, but my asthma kicked in with the fall harvest and now the bitter cold temps are holding me captive inside where it is warm.

My son in love’s response was that this is our choosing.  We could choose something else.  Actually, this is my calling and sometimes there are aspects of our callings that are difficult and challenging for us.

God has called me to this season of life with its struggles and challenges.  He is molding me and changing me to learn to be content in all situations – cabin fever included.  He is helping me to learn how to change my mind and attitude and as a result, complain less about my circumstances.

I had the privilege of taking a dear friend from Central America to Chicago on one of the year’s coldest days.  She had mentioned to me that she’d always wanted to see Chicago several months earlier when she was translating for us on our mission trip.  I told her that if she ever came to see us that I would take her to see Chicago.  So we did.  I just didn’t know we’d be going in January!  We did our best to clothe her appropriately for the level of cold she was about to face with us, but cold is cold.  It stung our cheeks and froze our legs, fingers and noses!  Every time I’d ask how she was doing she’d reply with a sweet, “Fine.”  Not one complaint from our dear friend!  Not one.  She smiled and laughed and enjoyed each new location – with all of the challenges that came with it!

Father God, thank You for showing me contentment in my friend.  Help me Lord to always look for the blessings and grace in each new season, location, situation that You call me to.  Thank You Lord for the new layer of snow outside.  Thank You Lord that the wind and cold outside, is outside and that I am warm and safe in my home.  The beauty of winter is grace to my soul.  Amen.

I hope whatever your circumstances are today that you can smile and thank the Lord for them.  All is grace.  Life is beautiful and it can be hard.  God is with us.  Lift up your eyes.  Rest in Him.  As I write this my sick child lays in bed for the second day, my sister in love is facing another dose of chemo that knocks her flat, a church friend is burying her husband after a lengthy illness, and many others on my prayer list need the grace, peace, and strength of Jesus today.

Be encouraged.  Press on dear brothers and sisters.  Press on.

God’s Provision

 I rejoiced in the Lord greatly that now at length you have revived your concern for me. You were indeed concerned for me, but you had no opportunity. Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. I can do all things through him who strengthens me.

Yet it was kind of you to share my trouble. (Philippians 4:10-14 ESV)

IMG_7989

Leave a Reply

