Yahweh Tsuri: God my Rock

As part of my devotionals this year I’m reading through a book titled Knowing God by Name.  A book that I gifted to several women in our church as a thank you for their service to our women’s ministry.  This book has been sitting on my book shelf for several months.

If you’ve been reading my blog for any length of time, you know that I am preparing to walk El Camnio de Santiago.  I continue to struggle with doubts and have recently asked God to continue to reaffirm to me His will that I go.  Maybe His purposes in this calling have already been fulfilled.  Maybe He has changed His mind.  Maybe I’ve missed the time frame when He wanted me to go and someone else fulfilled His purposes there.  Maybe He agrees with me that I’m not the right person for this calling.  I’ve specifically asked Him to reveal it in ways that are new and unrelated to the Camino.  He has done just that.

Day 3 of this book is about Yahweh Tsuri: God My Rock.  It was a powerful message for me.  I had taken notice of how God uses something as mundane and simple as a rock before, but this day hit me squarely in my doubting.  Here is an excerpt:

The ancient writers emphasized this aspect of God for a good reason.  Rocks provided shade and shelter in the wilderness and were used to create altars, temples, houses, and city walls.  Piles of stones memorialized important events in Israel’s history.  What’s more, God’s commandments, given to Moses, were etched on stone so that all generations would learn His Law.  The word rock epitomizes God’s persistent faithfulness.  …When we pray to the Lord our Rock, we are conversing with the never-changing God whose purposes and plans remain fixed and steadfast.

Reading this again just blows me away.  I had been told that God’s calling on your life will never be revoked.  One of the Camino traditions is for the pilgrims to take a stone from where they begin their journey and to leave it at Cruce de Ferro (at the foot of the cross) to represent their sins.  Although some leave stones and other items for many different purposes.  You reach this point on the Camino near the end of the second phase of this journey.  The first phase is physical, as your body is adjusting to the new routine and the terrain.  The second phase is flat and boring and more of a mentally difficult journey where you have time to reflect and spend in prayer and worship as you are walking.  It is here at the end of this phase where you release your rock just before you enter the spiritual phase.

Yahweh Tsuri.  Another reminder of who God is and what He has purposed in my life.  God My Rock.

Today’s reading brought this question:

What is God saying to you at this time about your seemingly impossible situation?

And God is able to make all grace abound to you, so that having all sufficiency in all things at all times, you may abound in every good work. (2 Corinthians 9:8 ESV)

Now to him who is able to do far more abundantly than all that we ask or think, according to the power at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, forever and ever. Amen. (Ephesians 3:20-21 ESV)

Like doubt, you only see your shadow when you have your back turned to the light.  God is asking me (us) to turn our faces toward Him.  When we do this, the shadows of doubt disappear.

Lift your eyes to the hills.  Where does your help come from?  Your help comes from the Lord.

Be encouraged.  Press on.

camino-2007.1185372480.camino07_436

Leave a Reply

