Grace and Truth for 2015

Last year I read through the entire bible in 365 days.  Having done this several times now, I debated and prayed over how to spend my time in God’s Word this year.  I’ve come to the decision that I want to dig deeply into the many passages that I don’t understand.  So I started this morning in Revelation because I’ve been reading a book by Grant Jeffrey to help me understand God’s prophesies better.  Although I’m learning, I still have more questions than clarity so I started there this morning.

Knowing myself well, I have to put a limit on my study time or I’ll be here all day.  So after an hour of study, I closed my books and my notes and moved over to this blog, thanking God for His beautiful Word. 

If you haven’t ever studied the Holy Bible, I challenge you to start this year.  God has so much to show us in His word.  His word is powerful and changes your life.  His word puts life into perspective, reduces anxiety, commands us to strive toward holiness, and gives us promises and hope for tomorrow.

But be aware that it draws you in.  There is such wonder and mystery in His word that it requires His Holy Spirit to help us understand.  The Old Testament and the New Testament are woven together like a luxurious fabric.  You can find Jesus in every book of the Bible.  You can (and should) study this book your entire life and never unlock all that God has in it.  Jesus is the word.

And the Word became flesh and dwelt among us, and we have seen his glory, glory as of the only Son from the Father, full of grace and truth. (John bore witness about him, and cried out, “This was he of whom I said, ‘He who comes after me ranks before me, because he was before me.’”) For from his fullness we have all received, grace upon grace. For the law was given through Moses; grace and truth came through Jesus Christ. (John 1:14-17 ESV)

Be aware that it is convicting.  God’s word is a powerful double edge sword.  It is useful for teaching correcting and training in righteousness.  When you believe God’s word and apply it to your life, it changes you and God uses it to mold you to become more like Jesus.  It reveals who God is and draws you closer to your Creator.

So start this New Year off with the grace and truth that come through Jesus Christ – the Word of God.

Press in, read it daily, ask questions, study it until you understand what you are reading.  Use tools like commentaries, dictionaries, original language, other Bible translations, online Bible study helps.  We have no excuse not to know God’s Word.  He will hold each of us accountable for what we have done with what He has given us – including what we have done with His Holy Word.

Finally, tell others about what you are learning.  You will learn from them too.

Be encouraged.  Read the Word.  Press on.  Happy New Year!

DSC02082

Leave a Reply

