Resting in the Busy Season

Today, this week, these past few weeks have been busy.  The plates are spinning over my head.  The monster called “Overwhelmed” is just outside my window, ready to pounce.  It is December.

I spent some time with the Lord of Lords and King of Kings this morning.  I spent some time reflecting and remembering the coming of my savior.  It is advent season.  He reminded me of WHO He is.  He reminded me of WHO is in control.  He reminded me of WHOSE I am.  And the monster called “Overwhelmed” was overwhelmed and defeated.

I have friends and family who are struggling and hurting.  He is in control.

I have people depending on me.  He is in control.

I have a long to do list that keeps growing.  He is in control.

So I can rest.

This season isn’t about pleasing people.  It isn’t about you or me or a sense of happiness and awe.  It is about a baby who came to save us.  He came to free us from death and bondage.  He came to offer us salvation and eternal life.  He came to die in my place.  So I can rest.

So slow down.  Take time to sit and do nothing at the feet of your savior.  It is what refreshes your soul.  It is what Christmas is about – Jesus Christ.

Be fully present with the people you are with.  Let Jesus fill your heart with His peace and His love so that you have plenty to share with those around you.  It is what Christmas is about – Jesus Christ.

Merry Christmas!  To God be the glory, so you can rest.

IMG_1135

Merry Christmas!  To God be the glory, so you can rest.

Leave a Reply

