Keeping What Is Written

My family and I are headed this week to a college visit for little bit.  When we travel I inevitably get to help navigate along the way.  I’m an old school map girl.   I don’t really care for these new-fangled GPSs.  I know that I just aged myself by about 30 years but oh well – it is truth.  Maps are easier for me as I can zoom in and pan out much faster with them than any GPS that I’ve used.  It is important to know exactly where you are in order to give good directions to where you want to go. 

Last month the whole family group went into a corn maze at a local apple orchard.  We all like to take turns leading the group.  Each of us has a rather independent spirit, but we try to stay together.  We end up arguing and debating over which way to go.  Even though we have a map in our hands, it is easy to get disoriented and head in the wrong direction.  Being lost in a corn maze with an unhappy 1 year old was rather unpleasant.  We finally got our group to a known location on the map and were then able to work our way out.

Scripture speaks of being lost.  It is itself a guidebook to walking the right path.  Recently, I’ve been reading through the Bible in a year and I am just finishing up Isaiah.  I realized that much of what is in Isaiah, I don’t really understand.  I’m not sure how to apply it or why it is there.  So I mentioned this at one of our women’s meetings.  Two sisters in Christ have offered me books on prophesy to help me understand.  I’m learning a lot in just a few short chapters.

“For the Lord GOD does nothing without revealing his secret to his servants the prophets. (Amos 3:7 ESV)

Prophesy demonstrates God’s power.  He alone is able to show future events with pin point precision.  All of the prophesies about Christ were literally fulfilled.  Whenever scripture uses symbolism it also defines the symbols, we don’t have to guess.  God uses prophesies to show us what is to come and to prepare us for it.  He wants us to be aware and to be ready.

Do not despise prophecies, but test everything; hold fast what is good. (1 Thessalonians 5:20-21 ESV)

And we have the prophetic word more fully confirmed, to which you will do well to pay attention as to a lamp shining in a dark place, until the day dawns and the morning star rises in your hearts, knowing this first of all, that no prophecy of Scripture comes from someone’s own interpretation. For no prophecy was ever produced by the will of man, but men spoke from God as they were carried along by the Holy Spirit. (2 Peter 1:19-21 ESV)

Blessed is the one who reads aloud the words of this prophecy, and blessed are those who hear, and who keep what is written in it, for the time is near. (Revelation 1:3 ESV)

So it is evident that God desires for us to read and understand all that He has revealed to us in His Holy Word.  I have much work to do.  I pray that God will open my eyes to His truth and to reveal all heresy that I may encounter.  I want to keep what is written but I must understand it correctly in order to do so.  Give me eyes to see and ears to hear Lord!

Study God’s Word.  Ask deeper questions.  Seek Him.  Admit when you are lost.  God has given you the map.  Find a known place on the map, and He will help you find your way to truth.

Be encouraged.  Press on.

Mark 13.23

Leave a Reply

