Renewing My Mind – Step 1

There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus. For the law of the Spirit of life has set you free in Christ Jesus from the law of sin and death. (Romans 8:1-2 ESV)

Amen?!  We are not condemned in our sin – we are rebuked to repentance.  We are not slaves to sin but slaves to obedience.

Their end is destruction, their god is their belly, and they glory in their shame, with minds set on earthly things. (Philippians 3:19 ESV)

But he who is joined to the Lord becomes one spirit with him. Flee from sexual immorality. Every other sin a person commits is outside the body, but the sexually immoral person sins against his own body. Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God? You are not your own, for you were bought with a price. So glorify God in your body. (1 Corinthians 6:17-20 ESV)

I have in the past joked about being overweight.  With the Lord’s help I will not do this anymore.  It isn’t funny to God.  When we harm ourselves, God is grieved.   I will not glory in my shame.  I was bought with a price.

One of the traps of taking good care of ourselves is sliding too far into legalism.  We must remember to pour an abundant amount of grace over this issue.  But we must also be intentional – choosing to agree with God about our sin and setting up a lifestyle with boundaries that prevent us from walking daily in our sin – returning to our vomit.

I must tackle my erroneous thinking.  I must renew my mind with the Word of God.  Discipline, accountability and self-control are all necessary if I desire to please God and bring glory to His name.  I can only accomplish this with His help through His Word, His Holy Spirit and His body – the church.

On my walk yesterday I listened to a sermon by Charles Stanley.  He was talking about our calling to holy living.  He declared that it is impossible to live a godly life when we choose to live in sin.  We often trade momentary pleasure for eternal death.  A person who Obeys God, Loves God and Serves God….this is what living a godly life is.  They are focused on eternal things.  If a godly life is the best life, is that the kind of life you are living?  Are you living God’s best for you?

A Living Sacrifice

I appeal to you therefore, brothers, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable to God, which is your spiritual worship. Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect. (Romans 12:1-2 ESV)

So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God. Give no offense to Jews or to Greeks or to the church of God, just as I try to please everyone in everything I do, not seeking my own advantage, but that of many, that they may be saved. (1 Corinthians 10:31-33 ESV)

Charles says, “As long as I am holding onto anything that is not in the will of God, I am living a godly life, I’m not surrendered to Him.”

Lord God, I know that when I am walking in Your will, surrendered to You, desiring to please You that You will equip me to walk in righteousness bringing glory to Your name.  Help me today Lord to make the best choices for caring for this body that You have given me so that I may serve You.  My efforts in the past have failed.  I can’t do this by myself Lord.  Strengthen me and show me Your ways.  Forgive me Lord when I fall short.  Amen.

God paid the penalty for my sin. He loves me and I love Him.

Surrender all of you to the only one who can deal with your sin.  Be honest with yourself, and renew your mind.  Stop being conformed to this world.  Choose God’s best for you one decision at a time.

Be encouraged.  Take care of yourself.  Press on.

Psalm 107.43

 

Leave a Reply

