Boasting in Jesus – All is Grace

My husband and I have signed up to participate in a weekly class on marriage at our church.  To our surprise, there were about 18 families represented in this class.  One of our first assignments was to basically share with the group about our family, experiences, education, dreams, etc.  Immediately we were out of our comfort zone.

But far be it from me to boast except in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ, by which the world has been crucified to me, and I to the world. For neither circumcision counts for anything, nor uncircumcision, but a new creation. And as for all who walk by this rule, peace and mercy be upon them, and upon the Israel of God. (Galatians 6:14-16 ESV)

This morning I was trying to identify why this was so uncomfortable to me.  Why was I embarrassed about what God had ordained in my life?  Why was I embarrassed about our education and our life experiences?  Then it dawned on me…

In another setting these things, these blessings would be boasts.

I have been crucified to the world – or have I?  This exercise felt a lot like we were boasting, and my spirit didn’t enjoy that.  Were we trying to take credit for what God has done?

I married a very humble man who does everything he can do to not let others know how wonderful he truly is.  As much as I appreciate this quality, at times it is upsetting as it borders on self-deprecation.  There is a thin line on which he walks, on which I must learn to reside.  Yes God has blessed us in many ways, but it was all grace.  Yes we have worked hard and sacrificed much for some of this, but it was all grace.  But for the hand of God on our lives, none of this would have been.  No beautiful children, no marriage of 26 years, no good job and nice home, no hope for the future.

So my prayer today is that the Lord is glorified through our lives.

Father I want to be crucified to this world.  I want to be a new creation.  I want to boast only in Jesus and His sacrifice for me.  Thank You God for Your peace and mercy in my life.  Amen.

Count your many blessings.  Give God the glory.  Be the salt of the earth and the light on the hill.

Be encouraged.  Do not be ashamed of the work of Jesus in your life.  Proclaim Him to all who will listen.

Press on.

IMG_6487

Leave a Reply

