Faithfulness – Whom are you following?

Today I needed some encouragement.  I obediently headed out on my walk, ready to listen to another Spanish lesson on my ipod and more sermons to keep me distracted as I walked.  There are storms heading in from the west so I stayed in town close to home in case they came upon me faster than I expected them.  My body is sore from the core strengthening work that I’ve been doing (and trust me it isn’t much, I’m just really out of shape).  My tendency is to fall into the woe is me mentality and I sensed myself going there.  So I had a little pep talk with myself (silently so that others wouldn’t think I’d really lost it).  Reminding myself of the big picture.  Congratulating myself for being out there in the first place. Seeking God’s filling of His Holy Spirit as I know that I can only accomplish this calling if He does the work within me.  Praising His great name and thanking Him for everything.

IMG_6134

That really lifted me up and changed my heart attitude.  A small victory of taking every thought captive to make it obedient to Christ Jesus.  Six more miles logged in my walk journal.

The sermon I listened to this morning was about Laodicea and their luke-warm Christianity.  I don’t want to be luke-warm.  I want to be fully surrendered to Jesus to be used for His kingdom however He chooses, wherever He chooses. I was reminded of the scripture that encourages us to live quiet lives, minding our own business and working hard with our hands.  Sometimes being faithful means working quietly.  Sometimes being faithful means strapping on your tennis shoes and heading out for a few hours of walking through your town.  Being faithful means walking around Jericho 7 times.  Being faithful means bathing in the Jordan 7 times.  Being faithful means being boiled alive in oil and then, having survived that horrific torture unharmed, being exiled to an island.  Being faithful means walking quietly to your own crucifixion.

God doesn’t call us to personal comfort or pleasure.  He calls us to His kingdom, to obedience, to holiness, to eternal life with Him.  He is calling to you.  Are you listening and willing to follow Him?

By faith the people crossed the Red Sea as on dry land, but the Egyptians, when they attempted to do the same, were drowned. By faith the walls of Jericho fell down after they had been encircled for seven days. By faith Rahab the prostitute did not perish with those who were disobedient, because she had given a friendly welcome to the spies. (Hebrews 11:29-31 ESV)

We are to walk by faith, not by sight.  Read Hebrews chapter 11 in its entirety.  Are your life goals in line with God’s?  Have you laid down your desires, wants and plans for His?  Listen for His guidance.  Seek His ways.  Strap on your shoes and follow Him.

Be encouraged.  Press on.

Therefore, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us also lay aside every weight, and sin which clings so closely, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, looking to Jesus, the founder and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is seated at the right hand of the throne of God. (Hebrews 12:1-2 ESV)

Jesus perfecter of faith

Leave a Reply

