Intentional Change for God’s Glory

Man was it hot and humid out today for my walk.  I’m not a big sweater usually, but this morning sweat was just running off my arms (and other parts).  Normally, I would have just skipped the walk today as the forecast was for heat indexes over 100 degrees.  School is even getting out early due to the heat.  But I am trying to turn a new leaf.  Go a new direction.  Make a change to see a change.  Trying to be the me that I want to be!  Trying to glorify God and be obedient to His call on my life.  So, out I went at 7:30am; off for my 1 hour walk in the heat and humidity that is Illinois in August!

It was uncomfortable, but I did it.  Another day of obedience chalked up in the books.  Now for tomorrow, I think I’ll get on my treadmill down in my air conditioned basement and get a few more miles in!

I’ve also started writing down what I’m eating and sharing that with a friend who knows my goals and my call.  More intentionality.  It has been revealing several bad habits that I need to break.  This is an interesting process.  My friend isn’t necessarily critiquing what I’m eating, although she does encourage me and congratulate me when I have those small successes.  It is more about the fact that I am aware of what I’m eating and going to have to show the entire ugly list to someone who cares about me!  No cheating allowed.  Every bite goes down on my list.

I spent too many years not keeping my weight in check, and now I’m having to work extra hard to shed those extra pounds.  I know that at my heaviest, I wasn’t fully able to serve others or our Lord well.  I was uncomfortable, in pain and I certainly didn’t have the energy that I have even now.  I still have a long way to go (and a short time to get there).  But God has been showing me the way and is pleased with my faith and my efforts.  He is changing my outlook and calling me to things beyond my reach.

So here’s to following Jesus with all of our heart, soul and strength.  Put your goals down on your calendar.  Find a friend who can encourage you (iron sharpens iron you know).  And step out into the uncomfortable.  God will bless your efforts and you become the you that you want to be.

All glory to our God in heaven!

Be encouraged.  Today is a new day.  Press on!

I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.  Philippians 3:14

Leave a Reply

