The Piano – God’s Perfect Timing

11 years ago when we moved back to Illinois, we purchased an old baby grand piano.  My father helped me refinish it (He did most of the work) and we moved it into the house.  We found a piano teacher, and our two girls took lessons for years.  I’d love to say that the beautiful sounds of piano music filled our home during those years, but the truth is that practicing was sporadic at best and almost non-existent at times. Both girls can read music and play the piano, but they rarely do so.  For the past several years this lovely instrument has just taken up space in our home.

So I asked my family members if they would be heart-broken if we got rid of it.  My youngest was very hesitant to part with it.  She is the one who will hold onto items because she has fond memories with that item or because she simply likes something.  I on the other hand wanted to use more of our living room, especially when we have company.

This all leads to how God works in the small things in our lives.  I tried to sell the piano for months.  I used several avenues and asked multiple people if they’d be interested.  Some were interested, but honestly, who really has space for a piano of this size in their homes.  No takers.  A few more months passed and I’d post it for sale again.  I called piano companies, music business, I even had one gentleman come and look at it, I even called the dump.  Still no takers.  I finally resolved myself that I’d just have to scrap it – pay some moving company to come and haul it to the dump to get it out of my home.  Final disposal for a beautiful, old instrument.  But my eldest insisted that I try posting it for FREE online just to see what would happen.  I was skeptical but I agreed to do it.

This is when God blows me away.

Not three minutes after I hit the post button on the “FREE Piano” ad, my phone rang with the gentleman who would become the new owner.  A local church in town (just blocks from my house) had been in search of a piano they could afford.  A baby grand to be specific.  They were a small congregation with no funds to purchase the piano they needed to worship our Lord Jesus.  They arrived the next afternoon with a truck, a trailer, and a crew of men to move the piano from my house into their sanctuary!  My excess became their blessing.

Isn’t that just like God!  No takers for this piano because the ones to whom he wanted it to go hadn’t seen the advertisement for it yet.  Then when my heart was truly ready to relinquish it at no cost, this pastor just happened to be online the moment I posted the FREE piano ad.  It was a small thing that could only be accomplished by our Great God!

Fear not, little flock, for it is your Father’s good pleasure to give you the kingdom. Sell your possessions, and give to the needy. Provide yourselves with moneybags that do not grow old, with a treasure in the heavens that does not fail, where no thief approaches and no moth destroys. For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also. (Luke 12:32-34 ESV)

This has just been one more, small step on our path to living with less.  Lightening our load so that we will be free to serve God’s Kingdom wherever He may call us.

Help me Lord to store up my treasures in heaven.  Keep my eyes focused on You.  Change my heart to love what You love and to hate what You hate.  Thank You for Your perfect provision in Your perfect timing.  Amen.

Wait until the Lord is ready for you to move.  Be ready and willing to let go of stuff.  Do what He’s asking you to do today.

He alone is true and faithful.

Be encouraged.  Press on.

Luke 12.43

Leave a Reply

