Faith, Love, and Righteousness

Belt, breastplate, helmet, shoes, shield, and sword.  Ready for my day, ready for any battle that may come my way.

But since we belong to the day, let us be sober, having put on the breastplate of faith and love, and for a helmet the hope of salvation. For God has not destined us for wrath, but to obtain salvation through our Lord Jesus Christ, who died for us so that whether we are awake or asleep we might live with him. (1 Thessalonians 5:8-10 ESV)

Stand therefore, having fastened on the belt of truth, and having put on the breastplate of righteousness, and, as shoes for your feet, having put on the readiness given by the gospel of peace. In all circumstances take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming darts of the evil one; and take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God, praying at all times in the Spirit, with all prayer and supplication. To that end keep alert with all perseverance, making supplication for all the saints, and also for me, that words may be given to me in opening my mouth boldly to proclaim the mystery of the gospel, for which I am an ambassador in chains, that I may declare it boldly, as I ought to speak. (Ephesians 6:14-20 ESV)

Equipped to take the word of God boldly to all the earth.

eeerrrrkkkk…..   Full stop.

But first, I have a long to-do list for today.  The laundry is waiting, I need to get a couple hours of exercise worked in, my house needs to be cleaned, dinner prepared, shopping to do, games to attend, and then there is the mail, the dishes, the trash that needs to be taken out, the strawberries that need to be picked and the garden that needs weeded.  Oh and did I mention that I need to put gas in the van and stop at the ATM because I’m out of cash.  I need to pick up my husband’s prescription at the pharmacy and mail a package at the post office.  My granddaughter wants me to hold her and dance.  There is the women’s ministry work that needs my attention still sitting on my desk.  AND I think the cat is out of cat food.  Time to get rolling or I’ll never get everything done today that I need to do.  If I’m lucky, at about 7pm I’ll be able to sit down, kick my feet up and watch American Ninja Warrior!

As a Christian woman, there are days when these two worlds seem so distant from one another.  Walking boldly with God fully fitted with my armor, ready to proclaim Jesus to whomever will listen and the minutia of reality in keeping a family and house running smoothly.  Walking each step in Love and Faith and Righteousness.

Lord Jesus, I need You!

Yesterday I was blessed with a lunch visit with a dear friend.  We were discussing her goals and those life issues that seem to temporarily derail progress that she is making.  It seems that the urgent issues in life make us set aside what is important.  People are important.  Our relationship with God is of utmost importance.

Don’t let the urgent things in life displace what is important in your life.

Seek God and His kingdom first and all these things will be added unto you.

Start your day setting your eyes and your heart toward God.  Put on the armor of the Lord.  And then allow Him to direct your steps.  Let Him use your hands and your feet today to be a blessing to others.  Focus on what is important – focus on who is important and the urgent will not seem so urgent.

Slow down.  Simplify your life.  Prioritize God and your relationship with Jesus Christ.

Life is better with Him.  Be encouraged.  Press on.

Matthew 6.33

Leave a Reply

