One Day at a Time Sweet Jesus

I intended to get up at 5:30am this morning to get my 6 or 7 mile walk done before the day heated up.  But that didn’t happen.  Not because of an unset alarm clock.  Not because of an unwilling spirit.  It was an unwilling body.

The past couple of days I have fought with nausea and last night it won.  It is funny how we all play this, “Was it ___?” game.  But the bottom line is that I have no idea why I haven’t felt good since Sunday morning.  Most of the day I am fine.  But when evening rolls around I’m not fine.  Only God knows what is going on inside of me.

So today I’ll take the day off from my routine.  I’ll let God work on whatever is going on inside of me – physically and spiritually.  The nausea is still present but mild enough to manage.  I look to Him as my great physician and for wisdom in dealing with ailments.

In the thirty-ninth year of his reign Asa was diseased in his feet, and his disease became severe. Yet even in his disease he did not seek the LORD, but sought help from physicians. (2 Chronicles 16:12 ESV)

saying, “If you will diligently listen to the voice of the LORD your God, and do that which is right in his eyes, and give ear to his commandments and keep all his statutes, I will put none of the diseases on you that I put on the Egyptians, for I am the LORD, your healer.” (Exodus 15:26 ESV)

Bless the LORD, O my soul, and all that is within me, bless his holy name! Bless the LORD, O my soul, and forget not all his benefits, who forgives all your iniquity, who heals all your diseases, who redeems your life from the pit, who crowns you with steadfast love and mercy, who satisfies you with good so that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s. (Psalm 103:1-5 ESV)

I’d never noticed before that the Lord “put diseases on the Egyptians”.  Over and over again we see in His Holy Word where God afflicts people with leprosy and cures them of it.  Psalm 103 declares that He redeems our life from the pit and crowns us with steadfast love and mercy.

This life is temporary.  God is eternal.  His love and mercy are eternal.  His ultimate purpose in my life is not to keep this body alive.  It is to change my nature and bring glory to Himself.  Something, sometime, is going to end this life of Sheri Olson.  All that will be left behind is a legacy of one kind or another.  I pray that God will glorify Himself through these final days of my life, however many they may be.

I trust Him in the walking with its pain.  I trust Him in the nausea.  I trust Him in the darkness.  I trust Him in my grief.

Because He alone is trustworthy.  God is good.  All the time.

This broken world is filled with broken people, disease, gnats, accidents, and the evil one.

Heaven is not, and that is where I intend to spend my eternity; with my creator forever.

Father God, we are called to praise you in the good times and in the bad ones because You are worthy of our praise.  I praise Your Holy Name today and forever more.  Amen.

Lift your eyes to the hills – where does your help come from – it comes from the Lord, who made heaven and earth. (Psalm 121)

Be encouraged.  Press on.

One Day at a Time

 

Leave a Reply

