A Long Walk

I am headed out for a long walk today.  I will try to do 8 miles.  But I am forced to wait as a storm is pressing in.  If I didn’t have today’s technology at hand, I wouldn’t know that the storm was coming.  I would be caught out in the middle of the storm with no shelter as the fields are empty and there are very few trees on my route.  I am grateful for this knowledge so that I can rearrange my activities today and stay safe.  When I actually begin the Camino pilgrimage, I will walk regardless of the storms.  I’ll need good rain gear and a good attitude!

Sometimes when the storms of this life hit us, we were unaware of their approach and are taken by surprise; caught out in the middle of nowhere with little shelter available.  Taking the brunt of life’s storms can be difficult especially when you aren’t equipped with good rain gear and a good attitude.  That is what a relationship with Jesus Christ offers us; good rain gear and a good attitude.  He is our shelter in the midst of storms.  He give us peace, despite our circumstances.  He loves us through the tough stuff.

There will be a booth for shade by day from the heat, and for a refuge and a shelter from the storm and rain.  Isaiah 4:6

God’s Holy Word tell us that in this life we will have trouble.  I don’t know if you are in the midst of a storm or if a storm is coming your way, but you have God’s “technology” (the Bible) that tells you that storms are coming.  Don’t be caught unaware.  Get your rain gear ready.  Seek to know Jesus.  Ask God to show you who He is.  Spend time building your relationship with Him.  You’re going to need that shelter.

The LORD is slow to anger and great in power, and the LORD will by no means clear the guilty. His way is in whirlwind and storm, and the clouds are the dust of his feet. Nahum 1:3

…when terror strikes you like a storm and your calamity comes like a whirlwind, when distress and anguish come upon you. Then they will call upon me, but I will not answer; they will seek me diligently but will not find me. Because they hated knowledge and did not choose the fear of the LORD, Proverbs 1:27-29

I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.  John 16:33

But the LORD has become my stronghold, and my God the rock of my refuge. Psalm 94:22

I lift up my eyes to the hills. From where does my help come? My help comes from the LORD, who made heaven and earth.  Psalm 121:1-2

Father God, thank You for Your Holy Word that shows us the way and reveals who You are.  Help us to seek shelter only in You and to be aware of the storms of this life.  We know they will come Lord, and we thank You for loving us through them.  Amen.

He is our hope.  Take a long walk with the Lord.  Be encouraged.  Press on.

Psalm 121.2

Leave a Reply

