Good Deeds

My daughter and I stopped into Hobby Lobby yesterday to look for some arts and craft items.  When we got into the store she remembered that she’d left her gift card in the van, so I handed her the keys, and she went out to retrieve it.  I must have missed her when she re-entered the store because it seemed like she’d been gone quite a while.  So I started strolling the store searching for her.  I found her by the painting supplies helping an elderly lady.  So I just stood there with my empty cart waiting for her, and waiting for her, and waiting for her.  After a small eternity, I decided I might as well just stroll around and browse because this wasn’t going to be over anytime soon.  The woman was having my daughter pull item after item off the shelf and tell her about the price, the size, the number of sheets of paper in the packet, etc.  And on and on it went.  My daughter was being so patient, helpful and sweet to this woman.  She answered question after question with such grace.  I wondered if the lady thought she worked for the store.  I also wondered when she’d be done shopping!  After about 40 minutes or so, she finally was satisfied that she had what she needed and she headed to the checkout.

Grace.

Patience.

Helping others.

Interruptions to our schedules.

After leaving Hobby Lobby, we stopped at another store and then headed to a take-out pizza place to pick up some dinner.  As we were putting the pizza in the van we heard and saw a hit and run accident.  The “runner” drove right passed us, so we attempted to get his license plate number.  My daughter wrote the number down while I headed to the car left damaged in the street to see if the occupants were ok.  Thankfully she was shaken and shocked, but ok.  We did what we could to help her out and then headed home.

Grace.

Patience.

Helping others.

Interruptions to our schedules.

Each day we have opportunities to either help or pass by.   Are we too busy to offer others assistance?  Are we too caught up in our own lives to not see that others need us?  May God give us eyes to see the good deeds that He has prepared in advance for us to do.

For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them. Ephesians 2:10

I don’t know what today will bring, but I do know that I’ve surrendered my will to God’s will this morning, and I pray that He’ll open my eyes to see what He would have me do.

Watch for opportunities to do good.  Give all glory to God, who alone is worthy.  Surrender your will, your day, your to-do list to God and watch what He’ll do with your day!

Be ready.  Be encouraged.  Press on.

Matthew 16.24

Leave a Reply

