Let Your Light Shine

Yesterday evening I headed to church for a prayer meeting. When I arrived, I parked my van between two other vehicles and was attempting to gather my drink, my purse, my phone and my tablet to get out of my van.  I opened my door just a bit and a small gust of wind threw it open all the way before I could catch it.  It scraped and dented the door of the car beside me just a bit.  I tried to “buff it out” so to speak to see if there was any real damage or if it was just a scrape of white paint from my van door that would rub off.  It was more than just a scrape.  I checked the license plate to see whose car it was, but I didn’t recognize the tags – in fact, they were out of state plates.  Must not be anyone I know.  No big deal.  Not worth mentioning.  Just a little ding.  Probably won’t be noticed.  I tried to rationalize my problem away.

Have you ever heard that the Holy Spirit reminds us of God’s word?  Have you ever heard that the Holy Spirit convicts us of our sin?  It is true.

A Lamp Under a Jar

No one after lighting a lamp covers it with a jar or puts it under a bed, but puts it on a stand, so that those who enter may see the light. For nothing is hidden that will not be made manifest, nor is anything secret that will not be known and come to light. Take care then how you hear, for to the one who has, more will be given, and from the one who has not, even what he thinks that he has will be taken away. Luke 8:16-18

As I walked into the church, the Holy Spirit was speaking to me.  The right thing to do, no matter how small of a ding, is to tell the owner how it happened and fix it.  Nothing will stay hidden, all things will be revealed – even a dinged door.  Make it right.

I asked a couple ladies about the car to find its owner.  It turned out to be someone I knew – a rental car.  So I explained the situation and offered to provide my insurance info or whatever was needed so that they wouldn’t be financially responsible for my accident.  Conscience cleared.  Holy Spirit submitted to.  God glorified.

On another front, this scripture speaks to our not covering up a light, and warns us to be careful how we hear.

Just a bit earlier, Jesus, talking to the disciples, says,

To you it has been given to know the secrets of the kingdom of God, but for others they are in parables, so that ‘seeing they may not see, and hearing they may not understand.’ Luke 8:10

It seems that Jesus is saying that there are some that He wishes will not understand the true message He is bringing.  Fulfillment of prophesy.  These may have been the scribes and the Pharisees – the teachers of the Law.  Other scripture teaches us that if we seek Jesus, we’ll find Him.  If we seek God’s truth we’ll find it.  But if we think we already know enough, are already good enough, that we’ve done all the right things, we’ll miss Him.  And what we think we have, even that will be taken from us when the truth is revealed.  If we possess something other than Jesus Christ that we claim as our salvation or inheritance, it will be removed, and we’ll stand with nothing on the Day of Judgment.  Eternal death will be our end.

But for those of us who have submitted our lives to our savior Jesus Christ – even more will be given to us!

You are the light of the world. A city set on a hill cannot be hidden. Nor do people light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on a stand, and it gives light to all in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before others, so that they may see your good works and give glory to your Father who is in heaven.  Matthew 5:14-16

So be careful how you hear.  Read God’s word.  Abide in it, and hide it in your heart.  Seek Jesus.  Lay down your pride, pick up your cross, and follow him.

Listen to the Holy Spirit.  Submit to His guidance.  Bring glory to your Father who is in heaven.

Be encouraged.  Press on.

Isaiah 49.6

Leave a Reply

