Precious Time – The Number of Our Days

With so many people facing difficult health issues and with such suffering around us, we must appreciate each moment of life that God gives us.  Life is a gift.  Time is a gift.  We don’t know when God will call us home.  Friends who struggled to keep their newborn baby alive for 10 months and finally had to let her go were given an unexpected final few hours to enjoy life with her – they took her out to the hospital playground and slid down the slide with her.  Joy.  Appreciation of life in the shadow of death.  Time is precious – too precious to waste in anger and bitterness.

Just as it was in the days of Noah, so will it be in the days of the Son of Man. They were eating and drinking and marrying and being given in marriage, until the day when Noah entered the ark, and the flood came and destroyed them all. Luke 17:26-27

Jesus is coming back, but He is tarrying.  Waiting for those who are lost to come to Him.  Waiting out of love.  But one day, He will return.  One day I will die.  In that last moment, my fate will be sealed.  Did I know Jesus Christ as my savior and Lord?  Did He know me?  Heaven or hell for eternity.  We don’t know when that last moment will arrive.  We are told to be ready.  I am ready – my fate is sealed.  I’ve accepted Jesus Christ as my savior – I walk with Him each day.  I know Him and He knows me.  Death has lost its sting.

The days of the Son of Man are here.  He is coming for the final destruction of the evil one.  A new earth will take the place of this broken world.  Are you ready?

Father in Heaven, teach us to count our blessings, to love others well, and to walk humbly with you.  Our lives are but a breath – a mist – a fading flower.  Help us to look toward eternity with You and to share the good news of freedom in Jesus Christ with all those who have ears to hear.  Thank You God for sending Jesus to pay the price of death for my sins.  Thank You for redeeming my life.  Help me to number my days.  Amen.

“O LORD, make me know my end and what is the measure of my days; let me know how fleeting I am! Behold, you have made my days a few handbreadths, and my lifetime is as nothing before you. Surely all mankind stands as a mere breath! Selah Surely a man goes about as a shadow! Surely for nothing they are in turmoil; man heaps up wealth and does not know who will gather! Psalm 39:4-6

What is the chief aim of your life?  Are you seeking to gather up wealth?

Seek Jesus and His kingdom first.

Be encouraged.  Press on.

Psalm 90.12

Leave a Reply

