Praising God as I Waste Away

Yesterday, I took a walk with a friend, and as we walked we chatted.  We were lamenting about our physical health problems and how getting older brings about deterioration of our bodies.  I am reminded of the many stories in scripture of God using the aged in miraculous ways – Zechariah & Elizabeth, Anna, Paul, Moses, etc.

So we do not lose heart. Though our outer self is wasting away, our inner self is being renewed day by day. 2 Corinthians 4:16

I don’t want to be one of those people who is constantly complaining about my health.  I want to transparent and authentic but not a complainer.  My outer self is wasting away – praise God I’ve lived long enough for it to do so!  It shouldn’t surprise me – or any of us for that matter – but rather it should be expected.  Parts are going to wear out and not work the way that they used to.  Disease will come.  Such is life.  Death will come to each of us in His time.

I guess what is most difficult to adjust to and accept is the diminished ability to do what we used to do, or even to do what we want to be able to do.  It takes an attitude adjustment (by the Holy Spirit) to accept limitations and find new purpose and life in our current situations.  Are we willing to accept God’s plan for our lives when it is significantly different than our plan?  Are we willing to submit and surrender our will, our plan, our health, our lives to God’s will?  Are we willing to be used by God as He sees fit?

God’s Word says although our outer self is deteriorating, our inner self is being renewed!  He is changing our focus from outside to inside.  Day by day I should be getting closer to God.  Allowing Him to renew my mind and my soul.

O God, from my youth you have taught me, and I still proclaim your wondrous deeds. So even to old age and grayhairs, O God, do not forsake me, until I proclaim your might to another generation, your power to all those to come. Psalm 71:17-18

It is the life of Jesus Christ in us – alive and well – who gives grace to those who seek Him.  When we proclaim the name of Jesus in our suffering and describe the grace and mercy He shows us in the midst of it, we are witnesses to the power of God in our lives.  Let us continue to proclaim Jesus Christ Alive and tell of His wondrous deeds.

Lord Jesus, help me to express how You are renewing my inner being and strengthening my soul even while my physical body is struggling along and wasting away.  Help me to keep my eyes on You and not on my circumstances.  Help me to be grateful for the things I can still do and for the years of health that You gave me.  Help me be grateful for the breath in my lungs and the new day that You have set before me.  Lord, let Your will be done in me.  Amen.

Keep your eyes on Jesus.  Proclaim His love and salvation to all those around you.

Be grateful.

Be encouraged.  Press on.

Jeremiah 17.14

Leave a Reply

