A Teachable Heart with Humbleness: A Pride Killer

I battle with pride.  It tries to raise its ugly head and tells me lies that my ears want to hear.  I know the trap that it is trying to lay for me.  I know the schemes of the evil one, and I praise God in heaven that He has taught me how to discern the right path.  Keeping a teachable heart and knowing who I am in Jesus Christ makes all the difference.  I realize that I am human – a sinner saved by grace – a redeemed saint and heir with Jesus Christ – only by the grace of God.  I know that I will continue to wrestle with my sin nature until the day that I am called home.

We have all become like one who is unclean, and all our righteous deeds are like a polluted garment. We all fade like a leaf, and our iniquities, like the wind, take us away. Isaiah 64:6

This daily dying to self and taking up my cross has to be an intentional choice every day of my life.  I must choose to turn from my pride and walk humbly with my Lord.  Keeping an open mind and an understanding that I don’t have it all figured out – that my perspective is limited and that God has more for me to learn, helps me reign in and squash my pride.  God allows us to learn from all sorts of people – our children, our church family, pastors, co-workers, the lady at the grocery store, etc.  Learning to discern wisdom and godly advice and then apply it to my life is key.  Asking God to reveal my sin to me, so that I can repent and change it, has also helped me along the way.

When pride comes, then comes disgrace, but with the humble is wisdom. Proverbs 11:2

The understanding of “but for the grace of God, there go I” keeps me in check.  I know that if God hadn’t spared me from a life of suffering due to my bad choices, my life would be very different than it is now.  If he hadn’t placed me in a family with good parents and supportive grandparents, my life would look very different than it does now.  But for His grace, I would be….a wreck.  The Lord has been gracious to me in unbelievable abundance.  He is my redeemer in this life and in the next.  I am living my eternal life right now and I choose to lay down my life, to pick up my cross, and to follow after Jesus.  It is His life that I am living.  As believers, He is alive in us.  His ways are the best ways for us.

He has told you, O man, what is good; and what does the LORD require of you but to do justice, and to love kindness, and to walk humbly with your God?Micah 6:8

Lord Jesus, help me keep a humble heart.  Show me where my pride sneaks in unnoticed.  Thank You for reminding me that I am no different than anyone else and that You love each of us equally.  Help me to offer such grace to all those around me.  I want to keep a teachable heart to learn all that You have for me.  Help me to have eyes that see and ears that hear.  Amen.

Lay down your life.  Take up your cross.  Walk humbly with your God.  Follow Jesus.

Be encouraged.  Press on.

Proverbs 13.10

Leave a Reply

