Obedient Thought Life – Called to His Purposes

2 Corinthians 10:5  We destroy arguments and every lofty opinion raised against the knowledge of God, and take every thought captive to obey Christ

Philippians 4:8  Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.

Circumstances tend to gain our attention – dragging it away from the things of God – particularly what we perceive to be NEGATIVE circumstances.  Renewing our minds by God’s Holy Word takes practice.  Changing the channel, so to speak, from our circumstances to our source of strength and wisdom – our help comes from the Lord.

This is how we are able to sing praises to Jesus in the midst of the worst trials that life has to offer.  I was lamenting to God in my morning prayers about my sufferings, and He showed me how trivial and silly they really are in light of the deeper sufferings that many must endure and in light of my eternity.  His truth, deeply set in my heart, changes my attitude and my outlook.  He turns my heart from grumbling to grateful.  Then I sing His praises.  A mini revival of a floundering heart.

Romans 12:2  Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.

I pray that God continues to renew my mind as I dwell in His word and walk with Him in prayer today.  He has set much before me to accomplish, and He has renewed my strength for His service.  This is the day that the Lord has made.  Let us rejoice and be glad in it.

Capture your thoughts for Him.  Be encouraged.  Press on.

Romans 8.28

Leave a Reply

