Following After Jesus – Choosing to See

Do you have eyes to see?  We have less than 30 days before our calendar tells us it is spring!  The piles of snow are melting.  The sun has been shining for two days.  While we enjoy peace in our country, many other countries around our globe are experiencing religious and political turmoil.  The Olympics consume our news and our nights.  There is much to focus on.  I don’t know what you are facing today in your life.  I encourage you to focus on the One Who loves you most.

A friend of mine has been sending me her “grats list” on a regular basis.  This idea of having gratitude to God for all that He is and does and doesn’t do really corrects our vision.  We studied about thankfulness and the eucharisteo in a book by Ann Voskamp called 1,000 Gifts.  In the book she was challenged to write down 1,000 gifts that the Lord has given her.  It trained her to watch for His goodness and His blessings over her life.  It reveals His deep love for us even in the smallest of things in this life.

Today I am thankful for the ability to rest in God.  I am thankful that He is in control of all things and that I am not.  (Oh, can you imagine?)  I trust that the perceived interruptions in my life are His hand of providence and of opportunity for me to see Him do a new thing.  I am thankful for His word and that He has given me a great love for His word.  Without it, I have no lamp for my feet or light for my path.

Last night in our women’s class, we discussed a chapter (in another book) about our fear of death.  We had such great, deep discussion that we didn’t get all the way through our chapter.  It is so refreshing to listen to the open honest heart of a woman seeking the Lord; being vulnerable enough to say, here is where I am with this issue.  It allows others to pray on your behalf for strength and wisdom.  We talked about how easy it can be to guide others in God’s ways, but how often it can be so difficult to sort it out in our own personal lives.  Seeking to walk with God staying right before His eyes regardless of what others are doing to you, saying about you, or wanting you to do is a difficult task.  But with God, all things are possible.  We talked about setting boundaries and not allowing satan to get a foothold in our lives.  It is ok, it is more than ok, to set some healthy boundaries around your life in order to shut out sin.  Sometimes we stand in our homes at the front door with it held wide open for satan to enter, and we wonder why things aren’t going so well.  SHUT THE DOOR!

We decided that 1) all fear is really the opportunity to step out with great trust in our great God and 2) our God is bigger than even our worst case scenarios.  I told the ladies that this may be the only thing I would ever want tattooed on my body – “My God is BIGGER.”  They laughed and suggested several areas where I might have that tattooed.  Silly girls!

Gratitude, trust, boundaries, choices, glory to God in the highest.

I seek to serve my Lord and my God.  I pray that He strengthens me for what is to come in such a way that my witness and testimony will bring honor and glory to His great name.  Lord Jesus, Help me to see where fear is creeping in, so that I can grasp the opportunity to trust in You.  Let Your Word light my path today as I seek to see your blessings.  Amen.

Love others well.  Choose to trust in the only one who is trustworthy.  Be encouraged.  Press on.

2 Timothy 4.17

Leave a Reply

