The Eternal Unseen

Not that anyone cares about the current state of my life, but this is a blog about praising God in the dailyness of life, so here goes.  A last minute doctor’s appointment has been scheduled for today because my lungs are screaming “NO MORE!”  My basement, although the rough construction of replacing our sewer line is complete, is in complete chaos.  This adds difficulty to our days because it includes our clothing items.  They are not where they should be and they are difficult to locate.  Dirt.  Did I mention the dirt that has seemingly overtaken every surface in my home?  Actually it is more like concrete grit, ready to scratch anything that it is wiped across.  My husband isn’t sleeping well, because I’ve been keeping him up with all of my lovely sickliness.  And sometimes there are simply more choices than I need, making a final decision more time consuming that is necessary.  How are we possibly going to cover over 650 sq ft of concrete mess to make it presentable and livable?  Paint?  Carpet?  Tile? Or Carpet Tiles?

This is where my firstborn reminds me that I am struggling with 1st world issues.  Jesus where are you?  Oh yeah.  You are still with me.  My basement flooring doesn’t matter in the big picture of life.  But it is very much in my face at the moment.  I know how to keep my eyes on Jesus and not on my circumstances.  I know how to have a Biblical perspective on most of life’s trials.  And I’m a realist at the core.

All of our possessions are blessings from God.  We consider this house an investment as well as a home to be used for God’s kingdom.  So we do our best to take reasonable care of it.  Since this is the largest single monetary project we have tackled thus far with this house, I want God to show us the way to go.  And I want to know the way NOW so I can finish this up quickly and get back to my regular life.

Wow do I still have a lot to learn!  Did I mention that my treadmill is also buried in the chaos and I am unable to use it at the moment?

This is where I tend to run ahead of God.  My level of discomfort with my current situation causes me to take matters into my own hands in an attempt to relieve my discomfort rather than to patiently wait on the Lord to lead me through this trial.  I am impatient when it comes to my own suffering.  To say it another way, I become disobedient to God in my suffering.

These trials, these seasons, these lessons are TEMPORARY.

For this light momentary affliction is preparing for us an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison, as we look not to the things that are seen but to the things that are unseen. For the things that are seen are transient, but the things that are unseen are eternal. 2 Corinthians 4:17-18

Father God, thank you that the things that are unseen are eternal.  Help me to walk by faith today allowing You to lead the way.  I am learning that I need to cling tightly to You, especially when I am in a time of suffering.  Help me to seek and desire Your will in all situations at ALL times.  Amen.

Our circumstances are temporary.  Look to the things that are unseen.  Be encouraged.  Press on.

Psalm 93.5

Leave a Reply

